Skip to main content

Finance and Audit Committee

Monitoring the University's finances and audit programs
The Finance and Audit Committee monitors and advises Senate on the University's financial performance, sustainability and audit programs.

The role of the Finance and Audit Committee is to monitor and advise Senate on:

  • issues relating to financial performance and sustainability
  • internal and external audit programs
  • financial risk management, including subsidiaries and controlled entities
  • non-financial risk management in areas covered by the committee's remit
  • thorough reviews in the areas covered by the committee's remit.

Full terms of reference (pdf, 165.8KB)

Agenda items due Meeting date  Meeting time
Wednesday 19 February  Wednesday 4 March  2pm -4.30pm
Wednesday 15 April  Wednesday 29 April  2pm -4.30pm
Wednesday 27 May  Wednesday 10 June 2pm -4.30pm
Wednesday 8 July Wednesday 22 July  2pm -4.30pm
Wednesday 26 August  Wednesday 9 September 2pm -4.30pm
Monday 28 September Monday 12 October  9.30am -12.30pm
Wednesday 4 November  Wednesday 18 November  2pm -4.30pm
Chair and ex-officio members

The chair is appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (not a staff or student Fellow).

Member Term of office
Karen Moses

Current term as Chair
Jun 2020 – May 2022

Previous term as Chair
Jan 2018 – May 2020

Belinda Hutchinson AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Chancellor
Feb 2017 – Feb 2021

Previous term as Chancellor
Feb 2013 – Feb 2017

Richard Freudenstein
Deputy Chancellor
ex-officio member

Current term as Deputy Chancellor
April 2020 – Mar 2022

Previous term as Deputy Chancellor
Dec 2017 – Mar 2020

Dr Michael Spence AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Vice-Chancellor
Jul 2013 – Dec 2022

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor
Jul 2008 – Jun 2013
Fellows of Senate

Three Fellows of Senate are appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor.

Member Term of office

Peter Scott

Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021
Dr Lisa McIntyre Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021
Professor Maryanne Large Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021
External members

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.

Member Term of office
Matthew Lunn

Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021

Previous term
May 2017 – May 2019

August 2015May 2017

Rosheen Garnon Current term
March 2020 – May 2022

Other members determined by the chair:

Stephen Phillips
Vice-Principal (Operations)
Wayne Andrews
Chief Financial Officer
Martin McLoughlin 
Acting Director, Internal Audit

The Investment Subcommittee monitors and advises the Finance and Audit Committee on University investments, strategies and other major expenditure projects.

Learn more


Rosie Biasi

Committee Officer
  • Level 5, Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Administration Building F23