Skip to main content

Finance Committee

Monitoring the University's Financial Perfomance
The Finance Committee monitors and advises Senate on the University's financial performance and sustainability.

The role of the Finance Committee is to monitor and advise Senate on:

  • issues relating to the financial performance and sustainability of the University, by reviewing and evaluating information provided by management on the financial impact of strategic proposals, budget and planning priorities, resource and capital allocation, and commercial activities
  • the University’s external audit program, including reliability of financial management and reporting and compliance with laws and regulations ensuring the effective management of financial risk across the University, including the financial risks of subsidiaries and controlled entities;
  • ensuring the effective management of non‐financial risk in areas covered by the Committee’s Terms of Reference; 
  • effective management of the University’s short-term portfolio, cash flow and liquidity positions; and
  • conducting reviews in the areas covered by the Committee’s Terms of Reference

Full terms of reference (pdf, 99.9KB)

Agenda items due Meeting date Meeting time
Wednesday 17 February 2021 Wednesday 3 March 2021 2pm -4:30pm
Tuesday 20 April 2021 Tuesday 4 May 2021 2pm -4:30pm
Wednesday 26 May 2021 Wednesday 9 June 2021 2pm -5:30pm
Wednesday 14 July 2021 Wednesday 28 July 2021 2pm -4:30pm
Wednesday 29 September 2021 Wednesday 13 October 2021 2pm -4:30pm
Wednesday 10 November 2021 Wednesday 24 November 2021 2pm -4:30pm


All submissions to Senate Committees must first be endorsed by the University Executive


Agenda items due  Meeting date  Meeting time
Wednesday 26 February 2022 Wednesday 9 March 2022 3:30pm - 6.00pm
Tuesday 12 April 2022 Tuesday 26 April 2022 2.00pm - 4:30pm 
Wednesday 25 May 2022 Wednesday 8 June 2022 2.00pm - 4:30pm
Wednesday 13 July 2022 Wednesday 27 July 2022 2.00pm - 4:30pm 
Wednesday 24 August 2022 Wednesday 7 September 2022 (reserve) 2.00pm - 4:30pm 
Monday 3 October 2022 Monday 17 October 2022 2.00pm - 4:30pm 
Wednesday 9 November 2022 Wednesday 23 November 2022 2.00pm - 4:30pm 

All submissions to Senate Committees must first be endorsed by the University Executive

Chair and ex-officio members

The chair is appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (not a staff or student Fellow).

Member Term of office
Karen Moses

Current term as Chair
Jun 2020 – May 2022

Previous term as Chair
Jan 2018 – May 2020

Belinda Hutchinson AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Chancellor
Feb 2017 – Feb 2025

Previous term as Chancellor
Feb 2013 – Feb 2017

Richard Freudenstein
Deputy Chancellor
ex-officio member

Current term as Deputy Chancellor
April 2020 – Mar 2022

Previous term as Deputy Chancellor
Dec 2017 – Mar 2020

Professor Mark Scott AO
ex-officio member

Current term as Vice-Chancellor
July 2021 -
Fellows of Senate

Three Fellows of Senate are appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor.


Associate Professor Maryanne Large

Current term
Jun 2021 – May 2023

Previous term
Jun 2019 – May 2021

Lachlan Finch  Current term
Dec 2020 – Nov 2022
External members

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.

Member Term of office
Matthew Lunn

Current term

Jun 2021 – May 2023

Previous terms

Jun 2019 – May 2021

May 2017 – May 2019

August 2015May 2017

John Meacock Current term

September 2021 - May 2023

Other members determined by the chair:

Stephen Phillips
Vice-Principal (Operations)
Wayne Andrews
Chief Financial Officer
Martin McLoughlin 
Acting Director, Internal Audit

The Investment Subcommittee monitors and advises the Finance Committee on University investments, strategies and other major expenditure projects.

Learn more


Declan Davies

Commitee Officer
  • Level 5, Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Michael Spence Building F23