Skip to main content

Investment Subcommittee

Monitoring the University's investments and Future Fund
The Investment Subcommittee monitors and advises the Finance Committee on University investments, strategies and other major expenditure projects.

The role of the Investment Subcommittee is to monitor and advise the Finance Committee on:

  • matters relating to the University's investment portfolio with particular reference to the:
    • appropriateness of investment policies
    • success of investment strategies
    • sustainability of investment activities;
  • strategies for the management of University investments;
  • recommendations for the University's Future Fund; and
  • recommendations for major capital expenditure projects and strategic initiatives which are funded entirely from the Future Fund, including advice on the investment mandate for the Future Fund, which balances support for a broad range of core University objectives with seeking to achieve appropriate commercial returns..

Full terms of reference (pdf, 93.7KB)

Agenda items due Meeting date Meeting time
Tuesday 9 February 2021 Tuesday 23 February 2021 8am -10am
Wednesday 12 May 2021 Wednesday 26 May 2021 8am -10am
Tuesday 10 August 2021 Tuesday 24 August 2021 8am -10am
Tuesday 16 November 2021 Tuesday 30 November 2021 10am -12pm

All submissions to Senate Committees must first be endorsed by the University Executive

Agenda items due Meeting date Meeting time
Friday 11 February 2022 Friday 25 February 2022 8.00am - 10.00am
Wednesday 11 May 2022 Wednesday 25 May 2022 1.00pm- 3.00pm
Tuesday 16 August 2022 Tuesday 30 August 2022 8.00am - 10.00am
Wednesday 16 November 2022 Wednesday 30 November 2022 8.00am - 10.00am
Chair and ex-officio members


Chair appointed by Senate (not a staff or student Fellow).


Member Term of office
Dr Lisa McIntyre
Current term as Chair
Jun 2020 – May 2022

Belinda Hutchinson AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Chancellor
Feb 2017 – Feb 2025

Previous term as Chancellor
Feb 2013 – Feb 2017

Richard Freudenstein
Deputy Chancellor
ex-officio member

Current term as Deputy Chancellor
April 2020 – Mar 2022

Previous term as Deputy Chancellor
Dec 2017 – Mar 2020

Professor Mark Scott AO
ex-officio member

Current term as Vice-Chancellor
July 2021 -
Karen Moses
Chair of the Finance Committee

Current term as Chair of the Finance Committee
Jun 2020 – May 2022

Previous term as Chair of the Finance  Committee
Jan 2018 – May 2020


Fellows of senate


intentionally vacant



  • To remain vacant given the appointment of three external members 


External members


A minimum of one and up to two external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the subcommittee.


Senate may, on the advice of the subcommittee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.


Member Term of office

Ian Macoun

Current term
Jun 2021 – May 2022

Previous terms
Jun 2019 – May 2021
May 2018 – May 2019
Jan 2018 – May 2018

As member of the Investment and Commercialisation Committee
Mar 2010 – Mar 2012

Mar 2012 – May 2014

May 2014 – May 2016

May 2016 – May 2017

May 2017 – Dec 2017

John Livanas

Current Term

Jun 2021 - May 2023

Previous term

August 2019 - May 2021




Others determined by the Chair


Stephen Phillips
Vice-Principal (Operations)
Wayne Andrews
Chief Financial Officer
Miles Collins
Chief Investment Officer



Kiuyan Hone

Committee Officer
  • Level 5, Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Michael Spence Building F23