Skip to main content

People and Culture Committee

Monitoring the University's human resources, culture and safety
The People and Culture Committee monitors and advises Senate on the University's human resources, Senate governance, culture, and safety, health and wellbeing.

The People and Culture Committee monitors and advises Senate on:

  • strategic human resources issues across the University
  • governance issues generally as they relate to Senate and the University
  • the culture at the University, including the need for any reviews or external advice
  • safety, health and wellbeing related matters
  • suggestions for honorary degrees and honorary fellowships
  • names in relation to University buildings, other significant assets, prizes and scholarships
  • effective management of risk in areas covered by the committee's remit
  • thorough reviews in the areas covered by the committee's remit.

Full terms of reference (pdf, 171KB)

Agenda items due  Meeting date  Meeting time
Wednesday 19 February  Wednesday 4 March  9.30am -12pm 
Wednesday 15 April  Wednesday 29 April  9.30am- 12pm 
Wednesday 27 May  Wednesday 10 June  9.30am -12pm 
Wednesday 22 July  Wednesday 5 August  9.30am -12pm 
Wednesday 2 September  Wednesday 16 September  9.30am -12pm 
Friday 2 October Friday 16 October  9.30am -12pm 
Wednesday 4 November Wednesday 18 November  9.30am -12pm 
Chair and ex-officio members

Chair is appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (not a staff or student Fellow).

Member Term of office
Emeritus Professor Alan Pettigrew
Current term as Chair
May 2019 – May 2021

Belinda Hutchinson AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Chancellor
Feb 2017 – Feb 2021

Previous term as Chancellor
Feb 2013 – Feb 2017

Richard Freudenstein
Deputy Chancellor
ex-officio member

Current term as Deputy Chancellor
April 2020 – Mar 2022

Previous term as Deputy Chancellor
Dec 2017 – Mar 2020

Dr Michael Spence AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Vice-Chancellor
Jul 2013 – Dec 2022

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor
Jul 2008 – Jun 2013
Associate Professor Tony Masters
Chair of the Academic Board

Current term as Chair of Academic Board
Jan 2020 - Dec 2021

Previous term as Chair of Academic Board
Jan 2018 - Dec 2019

Fellows of Senate

Three Fellows of Senate are appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor.

Member Term of office

Kate McClymont AM

Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021

Previous terms as member of the Nominations and Appointments Committee
Jan 2018 – May 2019

May 2016 – Dec 2017

May 2014 – May 2016

Jason Yat-sen Li

Current term
Jun 2020– May 2022

Previous term
Jan 2018 – Dec 2020

As the Chair of Academic Board is an ex-officio member as required by clause 46A of the University of Sydney By-law 1999 (as amended), the three Fellows are the Committee Chair, and two additional Fellows.  
External members

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.

Member Term of office

Vincent Graham AM

Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021

Previous term
Jan 2018 – May 2019

Jenni Smith

Current term
Jun 2020 – May 2022

Previous term
May 2018 – May 2020

Remuneration Subcommittee

The Remuneration Subcommittee monitors performance, incentives and terms of employment of the Vice-Chancellor and their direct reports.

Learn more

The People and Culture Committee is also advised by the People and Culture Subcommittee and the Nominations Subcommittee.


Rosie Biasi

Committee Officer
  • Level 5, Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Administration Building F23