University of Sydney Handbooks - 2016 Archive

Download full 2016 archive Page archived at: Fri, 13 May 2016 14:40:28 +1000

Master of Information Technology

Course overview

The Master of Information Technology (MIT) is an internationally recognised degree offering six majors within the four key areas of software, business, engineering and health.

Students can choose to focus on one particular area or there is the flexibility to combine subjects from related majors.

Whilst the completion of a major is an optional requirement of the MIT, the following majors are available:

  • Software Engineering
  • Networks and Distributed Systems
  • Data Management and Analytics
  • Digital Media Technology
  • Biomedical and Health Informatics
  • Telecommunications Engineering

For more information on units of study and degree program requirements visit CUSP (


The MIT is recognised as an industry-relevant award and has been accredited by the Australian Computer Society as a Professional Level course.