Our people

Bringing together more than 150 academics from a range of disciplines to focus on research that spans the whole decarbonisation puzzle.

Director, Professor Deanna D'Alessandro

As Director of the NZI, Professor Deanna D'Alessandro works in partnership with over 150 researchers and the Institute’s industry and scientific advisory boards to accelerate the development and responsible deployment of net zero technologies and solutions.

A chemist in the Faculties of Engineering and Science, Professor D'Alessandro is leading the development of materials for a novel carbon-removal process – otherwise known as direct air capture – whereby historical carbon dioxide emissions are removed from the air.

Decarbonising our society and our economy so our kids and grandkids have a liveable planet is one of the greatest global challenges of our time.
University of Sydney Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Mark Scott AO

Theme leaders

Advisory boards

Industry Board

Chair: Dr Clare Anderson, Worley

Chair: Dr Clare Anderson, Director, Sustainability Performance, Worley

  • Amanda Taylor, HSBC
  • Scott Nargar, Hyundai
  • Eisaku Ito, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries
  • Justin Koek, NSW Government
  • Vijay Pradhan, Origin Energy
  • Stuart Watson, Rio Tinto
  • Richard Kirkman, Veolia

Scientific Board

Chair: A/Prof (Hon) Alexandra Meldrum​

Chair: A/Prof. (Hon) Alexandra Meldrum​
Fellow, Institution of Chemical Engineers ​
Fellow, Australian Institute of Company Directors ​
Fellow, Institute of Engineers Australia


  • Kate Hughes, Philippines: Asian Development Bank
  • Francesca Zarri, Italy: Eni
  • Jihye Gwak, Korea: Korea Institute of Energy Research
  • Nilay Shah, United Kingdom: Imperial College London
  • Jussi Manninen, Finland: VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
  • Osamu Umesawa, Japan: Yokohama National University
  • Nguyen Thi Anh Tuyet, Vietnam: Hanoi University of Science and Technology (HUST)