ARC Future Fellowships recognise research strengths in Physics

25 July 2014

The School of Physics' strength has been recognised with the announcement of 3 Australian Research Council Future Fellowships in the School of Physics.

Announced by Federal Minister for Education Christopher Pyne, the Future Fellowships are designed to support Australia's most accomplished mid-career academics to continue their work in Australia.

The School of Physics Future Fellows for 2014 are:

  • Krzysztof Bolejko
  • Jan Hamann
  • Dennis Stello

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Jill Trewhella congratulated the Future Fellows on their achievement.

"Our success in the Australian Research Council Future Fellowships is testament to the breadth of research excellence here at the University of Sydney," Professor Trewhella said.

"I am tremendously excited about this project. We are entering a new phase of stellar astrophysics sparked by NASA and ESA space missions that will provide data of vast amounts of stars across the Galaxy over the next 5-10 years. This data will transform how we can study and use stars to probe the structure of the Galaxy and how it has evolved over its lifetime." - Dr Dennis Stello

"It is heartening to see researchers at the University of Sydney recognised across such a broad spectrum of academic expertise for their critically important work.

"Our researchers are working across disciplines to change the world in fields as diverse as astronomical and space sciences, psychology, health technologies, civil engineering and English literature."

"I am very honoured to have been awarded the Future Fellowship, during which I hope to continue the University of Sydney's tradition of delivering the cutting-edge research. During my Fellowship I will be investigating some of the most important puzzles of modern cosmology, such as dark matter and dark energy." - Dr Krzysztof Bolejko

With three Future Fellows in the field of astrophysics and two in nanoscience, the Fellowships demonstrate the significance of the University's ARC Centre of Excellence for All-sky Astrophysics (CAASTRO) and the Centre for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS), as well as the Australian Institute for Nanoscience, which will open the doors to a state-of-the-art $110 million research and education facility next year.

Some of Australia's most challenging issues will also be investigated by the new Future Fellows, again highlighting the University's breadth of research excellence and critical thinking beyond traditional disciplinary boundaries.

The full list of 2014 Australian Research Council Future Fellowships is available on the Australian Research Council website.

Contact: Tom Gordon

Phone: 02 93513201

Email: 4c29551e1e2e1f091f2f271140265a3f2e5e020b1a403447