Professor Bland-Hawthorn wins WH "Beattie" Steele Medal

30 November 2015

The Australian Optical Society has awarded Professor Joss Bland-Hawthorn the 2015 WH "Beattie" Steel Medal in recognition of his leadership and significant contribution to the field of optics, particularly in the application of photonics to astronomical and space instrumentation. He is the first astronomer to receive this award.

The Medal is the most prestigious award of the Australian Optical Society. It is presented to a nominee with a strong and sustained record of authority, enterprise and innovation in the field of optics in Australia or New Zealand.

The WH 'Beattie' Steel Medal
The WH 'Beattie' Steel Medal

Professor Bland-Hawthorn received the Medal in a ceremony at the ANZCOP 2015 conference in Adelaide on Monday 30 November. There he delivered a plenary lecture on "Astrophotonics: the future of astronomical instrumentation."

Professor Bland-Hawthorn is Director of the Sydney Institute for Astronomy (SIFA), and Associate Director of the Institute of Photonics and Optical Science (IPOS). His revolutionary developments are made possible through the outstanding work of the Sydney Astrophotonic Instrumentation Labs (SAIL) at the University of Sydney, funded by his ARC Laureate Fellowship and directed by Dr. Sergio Leon-Saval.

In the International Year of Light, this has been a busy year for Joss as he has delivered numerous invited or plenary lectures across the world, including the Frontiers in Optics conference in San Jose, CA a fortnight ago.

The WH Steel Medal was previously awarded to another Sydney academic, Professor Ross McPhedran in 2004.

Joss is a member of the Australian Academy of Science has won many awards including the Jackson Gwilt Medal from the Royal Astronomical Society (2012).

The conference website can be found, here.

Contact: Vivienne Reiner

Phone: 9351 2390

Email: 203c261f4e0f3f577c07293e0b0f0b153f332918031c1d11073c482d13