Australian Academy of Science Annual Awards

18 November 2016

Professor Joss Bland-Hawthorn is the first University of Sydney academic to win the prestigious biennial 2017 Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal medal in 30 years, and is the first astronomer to do so in over 40 years. He was recognised for his seminal contributions to astrophysics and instrumentation.

Since 1935, there have only been five previous Sydney recipients: D.B. Melrose (1987), R. Hanbury Brown (1970), S.T. Butler (1966), H.O. Lancaster (1961), and K.E. Bullen (1949).

This has been an excellent year for Professor Bland-Hawthorn. He was recently awarded the 2016 NSW Premier's Prize for the Excellence in mathematics, earth sciences, chemistry and physics category. Professor Bland-Hawthorn and Sydney Institute for Astronomy colleagues have also been awarded the triennial 2016 Peter McGregor Prize for innovations in astronomical instrumentation, which recognised the international impact of hexabundle technology developed in the SAIL labs here at the University.

Read the full news story on the University website.

Contact: Gabriel Nguyen

Phone: +61 2 9351 3201

Email: 3159511f5b5c2b401603331b091719324d03093315780f1447612a2d