School of Physics Honours Excellence

2 June 2011

Scholarships and prizes was awarded to outstanding Physics students at a recent ceremony in the School of Physics.

Each year, up to five physics students in each of the junior, intermediate and senior years receive a Science Foundation for Physics Scholarship. The prizes worth $700 in the junior year, $800 in the Intermediate year and $3,000 in the senior year, recognise excellence and encourage students to continue their studies in physics.

Beyond the Science Foundation scholarships, the School of Physics awards over $50,000 worth of prizes honouring excellence and achievement to undergraduate and honours students each year.

The scholarships were awarded to students ranging from undergraduate to post-graduate who are studying diverse areas of physics.

Dr Keiran Larkin presented the Canon Information Systems Research Australia (CISRA) Postgraduate Physics Prize to Gemma Anderson for the best-refereed publication: Identification of a population of X-ray emitting massive stars in the Galactic Plane published in the Astrophysics Journal.

Dr Christine Lindstrom was awarded the School of Physics Postgraduate Alumni Prize for the best PhD thesis: Link Maps and Map Meetings: A theoretical and experimental case for stronger scaffolding in first year university physics education.

Professor Martijn de Sterke, Acting Head of School, Professor Trevor Hambley Dean, Faculty of Science, Mr Jim O'Connor, President, Science Foundation for Physics, Dr Michael Biercuk and Professor Peter Tuthill also presented awards to talented students some of whom, such as Christopher Herron, Cleo Shyeh Tjing Loi and Dominic Else won more than one.

Mrs Jan King presented the Malcolm Turki Memorial Scholarship to Todd Green. Mrs King established the scholarship in memoriam of her late son, Malcolm.

Emeritus Professor Harry Messel AC CVO presented Professor Richard (Dick) Hunstead with the Messel Award for Excellence for which he unanimously nominated.

Professor Hunstead's outstanding contributions to the School for the past forty years have included research leadership in radio and optical astronomy, dedicated supervision and inspirational mentoring of generations of students including those in the Talented Students Program.

The School of Physics warmly congratulates Professor Dick Hunstead and all the scholarship and prizewinners.

Contact: Alison Muir

Phone: 02 9036 5194

Email: 04432f1624221601113e2575464d0a28523a44350130181b20