Medical Physicist Awarded AM

8 July 2011

Adjunct Associate Professor Lyn Oliver was recently recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours with a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his "service to medical physics".

As Director of Medical Physics in the Radiation Oncology Department at Royal North Shore Hospital Professor Oliver played a significant role in assisting the establishment of the postgraduate coursework Master of Medical Physics program in the School of Physics from 2004.

The full citation of Professor Oliver's honour (and bio) reads:

For service to medical physics in the field of radiation oncology, and through executive roles with the Australasian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine, and to professional associations.

Director, Medical Physics, Radiation Oncology Department, Royal North Shore Hospital, 1990-2010. Associate Professor, School of Physics, University of Sydney, since 2004.

Fellow, Australasian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine (ACPSEM), 2007; Chair, Radiation Oncology Medical Physics Accreditation Panel, 2008-2010; Head of Operations, 2006-2007; President, 2004-2005; Vice-President, 2002-2003; Inaugural Honorary Secretary, 1978-1982; Member, Steering Committee, 1975-1977.

Representative to Radiation Oncology Reform Implementation Committee, since 2003. Representative to Triparlite Committee (comprised of Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists, Australian Institute of Radiography and ACPSEM), 2000-2006. Representative to Equipment Specifications Working Party, Department of Health and Ageing, since 2003. Member, Working Party on Radiation Protection in Radiotherapy, Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency, since 2002. Expert Lecturer and Adviser, International Atomic Energy Agency, since 1999. Member, Health Physics Sub-Committee, NSW Radiation Advisory Council, 1991-2000; Member and Chairman, Medical Radiation Sub-Committee, 1991-2000; Member, 1980-2000.

Founder, NSW Hospital Radiation Safety Officer's Group (now NSW Hospital and University Radiation Safety Officer's Group), 1984; Chairman, 1984-1988.

Congratulations Professor Lyn Oliver AM!

Contact: Alison Muir

Phone: 02 9036 5194

Email: 16062058181d4f1b193a2470090f4b0d3d177637374016263b