Eureka Prize Physics Finalists

12 August 2011

Two individuals and a research group from the School of Physics Science have been named as finalists in the 2011 Eureka Prizes, commonly referred to as the Oscars of Australian science.

Presented annually by the Australian Museum, the Eureka Prizes reward excellence in the fields of scientific research and innovation, science leadership, school science and science journalism and communication.

Associate Professor David Moss
Associate Professor David Moss

Associate Professor David Moss, from the Institute of Photonics and Optical Science (IPOS), has been nominated for the Eureka Prize for Innovation in Computer Science.

Moss has been recognised for his breakthrough work incorporating light onto silicon computer chips. His research will be critical to overcoming many of the energy and bandwidth bottlenecks for on-chip and chip-to-chip communications, and will play a key role in enabling silicon photonic chips.

Dr Joy Murray, Dr Chris Dey and Professor Manfred Lenzen
Dr Joy Murray, Dr Chris Dey and Professor Manfred Lenzen

Professor Manfred Lenzen, Dr Christopher Dey and Dr Joy Murray, from the Integrated Sustainability Analysis Research Group, have been jointly nominated for the Eureka Prize for Innovative Solutions to Climate Change.

Their work involves adapting economic theory to estimate the impacts of our actions by using mathematics, large-scale data handling, high performance computing and integrated science.

The ISA a multidisciplinary research group that has developed a model to calculate all supply chain interactions in economies, from local to global scale, and simultaneously link them to greenhouse gas emissions and other important indicators such as land, energy and water use.

Professor Ben Eggleton, Director of CUDOS, the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence in Photonics, with over 130 researchers from seven Australian Universities, is in the running for the Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science.

Professor Eggleton is a world-recognised scientist at the forefront of the exciting field of photonics and optical physics.

The judges chose him for his outstanding record of multidisciplinary research leadership in Australia and the US, and his ability to develop and lead breakthrough science and technology and translate discoveries into commercial realities.

The prizes will be presented at Sydney's Hordern Pavilion on Tuesday 6 September, where $240 000 in prize money will be awarded across a range of categories.

Contact: Alison Muir

Phone: 02 9036 5194

Email: 3b345e1a2b0556003a5a41341b114f002f0969082f2c64393e