Young Tall Poppy Award Winners

4 November 2011

School of Physics optical researcher, Dr Boris Kuhlmey, has been awarded a Tall Poppy from the Australian Institute of Policy and Science, announced at an awards ceremony on 3 November 2011.

The Tall Poppy is a prestigious annual science award that recognises young scientists who are doing outstanding work in their field and actively engage and educate the community about their work.

Boris researches and develops optical fibres used in microscopes and for medical tools. His work focuses on how the fibres' microscopic structure affects light travelling through it. Boris has been developing fibres perforated with microscopic holes. Dr Kuhlmey has also been working on inserting metallic nano-strands into fibre to adjust its optical properties.

Dr Boris Kuhlmey with Professor Stephen Thurgate at the Awards
Dr Boris Kuhlmey with Professor Stephen Thurgate at the Awards

Receiving his award at the Powerhouse Museum, Boris said he was honoured to receive the award. "It is a great encouragement to receive such acknowledgment. Photonics and optics is a fast developing field and I'm looking forward to not only working in this area but also educating students about it as it continues to develop."

Dr George Hobbs from CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science received the UNSW Medal and prize for the Young Tall Poppy Scientist of the Year. Dr Hobbs is an adjunct senior lecturer in the School of Physics.

Tall Poppy keynote speaker, Professor Bryan Gaensler, said he was not surprised that Dr Hobbs had been so honoured. "George has made a tremendous contribution over a number of years to the School of Physics by co-supervising honours and PhD students. Both he and Boris are deserving winners."

The School of Physics winners were two of eleven scientists honoured with 2011 Young Tall Poppy Science Awards in NSW and one of four from the University of Sydney.

"I'd like to congratulate our Young Tall Poppy Science Award winners this year. It's a wonderful recognition of not only their excellent research, but also their engagement with schools and the wider community," said Professor Trevor Hambley, Dean of the Faculty of Science.

"Over the past eleven years of the Young Tall Poppy Science Awards, University of Sydney scientists have been honoured every year, which is a great acknowledgement of the research outputs and engagement with community fostered at our university."

Previous Tall Poppy winners from the School of Physics are ARC Federation Fellows, Professor Bryan Gaensler and Professor Marcela Bilek.

Professor Bryan Gaensler, Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for All-sky Astrophysics (CAASTRO), at the University of Sydney, was also a Keynote Speaker at the awards ceremony.

The Young Tall Poppy Award winners will spend the next year engaging with teachers, school students, parents and the broader community around NSW and across Australia as part of the Tall Poppy Campaign.

Four University of Sydney scientists have won Young Tall Poppy Science The University of Sydney winners are: Dr Deanna D'Alessandro, from the School of Chemistry; Dr Boris Kuhlmey, from the School of Physics; Dr Peter Liddicoat, from the Australian Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis; and Dr Michelle Peate, from the School of Psychology.

Congratulations to Boris and to all the Tall Poppy award winners.

Contact: Alison Muir

Phone: 02 9036 5194

Email: 320626055908685a3f1f1f142b1e0b3a32134c0d1d246b2a26