The department of Philosophy offers Australia’s most comprehensive teaching and research program in Philosophy.


Professor Nick Smith, Dr Caroline West, Professor Paul Griffiths, Professor Duncan Ivison, Associate Professor John Grumley, Professor Rick Benitez , Associate Professor Alex Lefebvre, Professor Peter Anstey, Dr Brian Hedden, Dr Dalia Nassar, Associate Professor Anik Waldow, Dr Sam Shpall, Dr Hannah Tierney

Research Location

Department of Philosophy, School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry (SOPHI)

Program Type



The department is internationally recognised for research in the history of philosophy, German philosophy, naturalism and contemporary metaphysics, decision theory, philosophy of science (especially causation and time), philosophy of mind and moral, social and political philosophy, philosophy of ecology, biology and the environment. Recently, the department's postgraduate program was ranked in the top 40 philosophy graduate programs in the English-speaking world and in the top 2 in Australasia.

Want to find out more?

Contact us to find out what’s involved in applying for a PhD. Domestic students and International students

Contact Research Expert to find out more about participating in this opportunity.

Browse for other opportunities within the Department of Philosophy, School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry (SOPHI) .


social philosophy, ethics, German philosophy, Continental philosophy, contemporary metaphysics, philosophy of time, moral philosophy, political philosophy, pragmatism, naturalism, logic, epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of biology, philosophy of mind, philosophy of science and technology, philosophy of ecology, philosophy of the environment

Opportunity ID

The opportunity ID for this research opportunity is: 439

Other opportunities with Professor Rick Benitez

Other opportunities with Associate Professor Alex Lefebvre