About Professor Andrew Harris

Andrew's research passion is to bring about a truly sustainable society.

Andrew is interested in developing cutting edge technologies to assist with the transition to sustainability. He joined the University of Sydney in 2004 from the University of Cambridge, where he worked for almost six years in the Department of Chemical Engineering.

Andrew is currently Associate Professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at The University of Sydney and foundation director of the Laboratory for Sustainable Technology, a multidisciplinary research group of 30 staff and students whose objective is to create products and processes which maximise resource and energy efficiency, eliminate waste and cause no harm to the environment. Andrew's research typically occurs at the interface between established scientific disciplines, i.e. chemistry, physics, biology, engineering and materials science. Because of this he and his colleagues adopt a multi-scale, multi-disciplinary approach that brings a wide range of skills to bare on pressing environmental and sustainable development problems. Since 2004, he has raised more than $5 million in competitive funding to support this work.

Andrew consults widely to industry, both in Australia and overseas, and is the co-founder of two start-up companies. He considers his most important work to be his contribution to the BioRegional MiniMill, a regional scale, sustainable pulp and paper technology. The MiniMill was described by the WWF as a "visionary approach to sustainable paper production", and in 2007, won the Observer (UK) Magazine's "Ethical Invention of the Year " from more than 7000 entries.

Andrew received his PhD from the University of Cambridge in 2002 and is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE). In 2006 he was awarded the Shedden Uhde Medal as the leading early career chemical engineer in Australia and New Zealand and in 2007 was chosen as one of Australia's top 10 scientists under the age of 40 by a selection panel chosen by Cosmos Magazine (which included Apollo 11 astronaut Buzz Aldrin).