The Earl de la Warr



The degree of Master of Arts* was conferred ad eundem gradum upon William Herbrand Sackville, 9th Earl De La Warr, by the Chancellor Mr Justice Halse Rogers on 2 February 1938.

The Earl de la Warr was Lord Privy Seal (or, more formally, the Lord Keeper of the Privy Seal), and one of the distinguished visitors from overseas who had been invited by the Commonwealth and State Governments to attend the celebrations connected with the 150th Anniversary of the Foundation of Australia.

Dr Hugh Dalton, Dame Maria Ogilvie Gordon and Sir Josiah Stamp were also awarded honorary degrees at this ceremony.

* As there was no provision in the University Act until 1952 for conferring of honorary degrees by the University of Sydney, the University awarded a number of degrees 'ad eundem gradum' - mostly Doctor of Laws - as a mark of special honour. Those who received this award included members of the Royal Family, Governors-General, distinguished soldiers and leaders of industry.