Theoretical Physics Research Group

spherical cow

Curiosity about the world and a commitment to solving problems - these passions drive the Theoretical Physics research group in the School of Physics at the University of Sydney. The aim of the group is to carry out internationally competitive research in theoretical physics. The group's research emphasises fundamental processes in astrophysics and covers topics in solar physics, pulsars, scintillation, fundamental plasma physics, and computational physics.

Other research groups in the School of Physics also do research in theoretical physics, including the Biophysics, Brain Dynamics, Complex Systems, Condensed Matter Theory, CUDOS, Quantum Information Theory, and Space and Solar Physics groups. The name of the group is not intended to be exclusive! The Theoretical Physics group is associated with the Sydney Institute for Astronomy, and most group members are located with SIfA in building H90 (44 Rosehill Street, Redfern).

Group meetings

The group meets most weeks in the seminar room in the Rosehill St building. Members of other research groups in the School should feel free to attend. E-mail notices for the meetings are organised by - contact Stuart to be added to the list.

Current personnel

 People  Position
Dave Galloway Senior Lecturer
Stuart Gilchrist Postgraduate Student
Don Melrose Professor of Physics (Theoretical)
Pat Noble Postgraduate Student
Mohammad Rafat Postgraduate Student
Mike Wheatland Associate Professor
Ray Yuen Postgraduate Student