Skip to main content
Colourful tents in a market

Panel proposal

ASAA Conference 2018: Area studies and beyond

Submissions are now closed.

Panels can be proposed by an individual or sponsored by an institution, should consist of four paper presenters and a chair, and run for 80 minutes total (four x 15 minute presentations plus Q&A). Each presenter should participate in the conference once only, this means appearing once only on either a panel, panel discussion or roundtable.

Proposals must include:

  • The name of the panel chair
  • A panel title and a 150 word panel abstract
  • A title and 150 word abstract for each of the four papers to be presented (submitted separately here
  1. Panel proposals are submitted separately to paper proposals. Panel proposals must include details of the convenor and chair. If known, provide details on panel members.
  2. Once you have submitted your panel proposal, remind your panel members to complete the submission process by submitting their paper here. To ensure papers are correctly matched to submitted panels, tick yes at “Is this paper part of a panel?” and provide the panel name and convenor.
  3. Both panel proposal and the corresponding paper abstract proposals must submitted by 11.59pm (AEST),1 November 2017.

Proposals for a stream of panels are welcome, but each panel will be reviewed on its own merits.

We strongly encourage multi-country or multi-disciplinary representation, as well as gender balance and the inclusion of a combination of junior and senior scholars, in all proposals. In addtion to a broad range of disciplinary and thematic streams, panels on professional practice are welcome. 

Individuals agreeing to join a proposal should be committed to attending the conference from 3-5 July, should the proposal be accepted. If paper-givers have not registered by 30 March 2018, their name will be removed from the conference program and panel chairs will be asked to identify a replacement paper.

Proposal submissions for the conference will close at 11.59pm (AEST), 1 November 2017.