Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences names three Horizon Fellows

18 December 2023
Three leading minds to join the faculty under new scheme
Three of the Australia’s best emerging academics to undertake innovative and game changing research in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences will welcome three emerging and high-quality researchers as part of the University of Sydney’s new Horizon Fellowships scheme.

Intended to empower the world's best and brightest emerging academics, the Horizon Fellowships will allow these academics to undertake innovative research that will build our understanding of, and resilience to, climate change; improve health outcomes; and create a more sustainable world.

The academics appointed as Horizon Fellows in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences are:

  • Dr Blanche Verlie, the University of Wollongong
  • Dr Lee White, Australian National University
  • Dr Barbara Barbosa Neves, Monash University

Dr Blanche Verlie will investigate climate justice, emotions and community action. This research will focus on community experiences and social responses to climate change.

Dr Lee White will research the links between justice, governance and energy systems. The research will help design policies for energy system reform that address social and equity aims, as well as environmental goals.

Dr Barbara Barbosa Neves will investigate artificial intelligence and healthy aging. The work will advance new understandings of AI-based care to address loneliness, social isolation, and exclusion in later life.

Professor Lisa Adkins, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, said she was ecstatic to have the new fellows join to support the work of the faculty, and contribute to the university’s 2032 strategy.

“As we begin to roll out our new strategy and priority research themes, the timing could not be better to welcome these three exceptional researchers to our Faculty,” Adkins said.

“We look forward to supporting them in the very exciting programmes of work they have set out.”

The new fellows will officially join the Faculty in early 2024.

Related articles