Our people

Meet the faculty’s leadership team and key management staff

Our team comprises world-class academics and researchers in the fields of engineering, project management and computer science, with strong industry connections and a passion for educational excellence. 

Faculty leadership

Professor Willy Zwaenepoel

Professor Willy Zwaenepoel

Professor Willy Zwaenepoel, an established global leader in experimental computer science research, joined the Faculty of Engineering in July 2018.

Professor Zwaenepoel previously held the position of Head of School at the School of Computer and Communication Sciences at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) for nine years.

Before this he spent almost two decades on the faculty at Rice University, USA. Professor Zwaenepoel has been elected as a Fellow of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Association for Computing Machinery.

Professor Zwaenepoel has worked in a variety of aspects of operating and distributed systems and he is best known for his work on the TreadMarks distributed shared memory system, which was licensed to Intel and became the basis for Intel’s OpenMP cluster product.

He was a key advisor to Nutanix from 2010 (currently valued at US$5.5 billion) and his research has led to two startups, iMimic and BugBuster, being acquired by Cisco. He continues to advise several startups and is as a member of the board of ICTSwitzerland.

Professor Zwaenepoel completed his undergrad studies at Ghent University, Belgium in 1979 and obtained his master’s and doctorate degrees from Stanford University, USA in 1980 and 1984 respectively.

Professor TJ Lim

Professor Teng Joon Lim
Deputy Dean
Associate Dean (Education)

Professor Hesham El Gamal

Professor Hesham El Gamal
Deputy Dean
Associate Dean (Academic Affairs)

Ms Shari Lee
Faculty General Manager

Professor Tim Wilkinson
Associate Dean, Student Life

Professor Ken Tye Yong
Associate Dean, External Engagement

Professor Ali Abbas
Acting Associate Dean, Research Management

Associate Professor Kalina Yacef
Associate Dean, Research Training

Associate Professor Tom Goldfinch
Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning

Mr Rajah Varatharajah
Associate Director of Finance

Ms Sandra Margon
Head, External Relations

Ms Jane Cusack
Executive Assistant to the Dean


Our researchers

Please find a researcher (academic profiles) or refer to the staff directory for contact information.

To find out more about our research expertise or find a researcher associated with a particular project or centre, please visit our research section