Skip to main content

Law alumni receive Australia Day Honours

3 February 2017
Eight of our alumni awarded 2017 Australia Day Honours

Congratulations to all members of the University of Sydney Law School community who have been recognised in the 2017 Australia Day Honours List for their outstanding contributions across many aspects of Australian life.

The University of Sydney campus

Companion (AC) in the General Division

The Hon Robert J Ellicott QC (BA '47 LLB '50)
For eminent service to the Parliament of Australia, particularly as Attorney-General, to legal practice and innovative policy development, to advancements in global trade law, and to the international arbitration of sporting disputes.

Dr Michael Spence (BA '85 LLB '87)
For eminent service to leadership of the tertiary education sector, to the advancement of equitable access to educational opportunities, to developing strategic programs focused on multidisciplinary research, and to the Anglican Church of Australia.

Member (AM) in the General Division

Mr Andrew Patrick O'Keefe (BA '94 LLB '98)
For significant service to the broadcast media as a television presenter, and to social welfare and charitable organisations.

Medal (OAM) in the General Division

Mr Andrew John Purchas (BEc '88 LLB '90)
For service to rugby union, and to the promotion of social inclusion for LGBTI people.

Mr Norbert Joseph Schweizer (BA '69 LLB '72)
For service to the community through voluntary roles.

Dr James Francis Wilkinson (MBBS '74 MHlthLaw '03)
For service to medicine, and to choral music.

Mr Richard Gordon York (BA '92 LLB '94)
For service to Australia-Czech Republic relations.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mr Peter Joseph Riordan (MLLR '96)
For outstanding public service to industrial relations and education in New South Wales.

A full list of recipients is available on the Governor General's website.