Team Australia claim victory in Tokyo mooting competition

12 December 2018
Sydney Law School students gain valuable legal and cultural experience in Japan
Australia’s cross-university team crowned champions of the 2018 Intercollegiate Negotiations Competition in Tokyo, Japan.
Tokyo Intercollegiate Negotiation and Arbitration Competition Team Australia

Team Australia, comprised of 21 students across 9 Australian universities.


Sydney Law School student Dylan Sherman and Law/International and Global Studies student May Yang represented the University of Sydney in this year's Team Australia.

The team, comprised of 21 students across 9 Australian universities, won the 2018 Intercollegiate Negotiations Competition and placed first in the English-language Negotiation round, in addition to winning a prize in the Japanese-language Arbitration round. Australian law students have been competing in the innovative Intercollegiate Negotiation and Arbitration Competition in Tokyo since 2005.

Team Australia receives support from DFAT travel scholarships and from the Australian Network for Japanese Law (ANJeL), centred on the University of Sydney, Australian National University and Queensland University of Technology.

The ANJeL, a unique cross-institutional initiative including Sydney Law School as a core member and Professor Luke Nottage as founding Co-Director, has supported Australian law students competing in the Competition in Tokyo since its inception. Last year, the team came second overall and won the inaugural Chartered Institute of Arbitrators' Prize for Best Performance in the English-language Arbitration round.

The annual competition involves a three hour negotiation and three and a half hour arbitration, with sub-teams of four to five students competing in English and/or Japanese divisions, based on complex inter-linked scenario involving a cross-border investment project.   

The students were supervised by ANJeL Advisory Board Member and ANU professor Veronica Taylor and extra support was provided by ANJeL Co-Director and Sydney Law School’s Professor Luke Nottage.


Related articles