Skip to main content
Sydney skyline

Lecturer appointed to District Court of NSW

26 February 2019
Alister Abadee, leader in civil litigation, has been appointed to District Court of NSW
Mr Alister Abadee was sworn in to the District Court of NSW this month, along with South Australian District Court judge Susanne Cole, Federal Circuit Court judge Justin Smith SC and barristers Graham Turnbull SC and Sharon Harris.

The appointments were announced in December 2018 by Attorney General Mark Speakman.

In the statement released by Mr Speakman, he praised the appointees, including Mr Abadee, saying, “The District Court of NSW will benefit from the considerable expertise of…Mr Abadee who has been a leader in civil litigation for many years.”

Mr Abadee will sit on the bench of the District Court, alongside Judge Smith, Mr Turnbull and Ms Harris. Judge Cole will serve as a Deputy President of the NSW Civil & Administrative Tribunal, and the head of its Administrative and Equal Opportunity and Occupational Divisions.

“I am extremely pleased to congratulate Mr Abadee on behalf of the University of Sydney Law School,” said Professor Cameron Stewart, Acting Dean and Acting Head of School, Sydney Law School.”

“The appointment is an incredible honour and well-deserved recognition for one of Sydney’s leading barristers and one of our best teachers,” he continued.

Mr Abadee was called to the Bar in 2000. He was admitted as a legal practitioner in 1995 after being an Associate to a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia in 1994. He is also a Naval Reservist and has been a member of the Sydney Panel since 2001. His publications include co-authorship of the text, ‘Professional Liability in Australia’ (3nd ed, 2016).

Mr Abadee completed his Master of Laws and Bachelor of Arts from the University of Sydney. He has also completed a Graduate Diploma in Military Law (Australian National University).

The new appointees replace Judge David Frearson, Judge Peter Berman and Judge Audrey Balla who are retiring and Judge Paul Lakatos who has been appointed as President of the Mental Health Review Tribunal.