Skip to main content
The Howling Girls

2019 Art Music Awards

16 July 2019
Ten finalists from the University of Sydney
University of Sydney academics Carl Vine, Damien Ricketson, Matthew Hindson, Vladimir Gorbach and Liza Lim; alumni Alice Chance, Jeremy Rose, Lachlan Skipworth and Elizabeth Younan; and current student Andrea Keller have been honoured with nominations for the 2019 Art Music Awards.

Presented each year by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre, the Art Music Awards recognise achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian art music.

The Art Music Awards consist of eleven national awards and various State Awards across categories covering composition, performance, and outstanding contributions by individuals and organisations in Australian music, in music education, experimental music, jazz and regional music.

Our award nominees are:

  • Title: Implacable Gifts (Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra)
    Composer: Mr Carl Vine, AO, Senior Lecturer in Composition
    Performers: Kathryn Stott (piano), Piers Lane (piano), West Australian Symphony Orchestra and Rory Macdonald (conductor)
    Publishers: Hal Leonard/Faber

  • Title: DACCORD : A diary of discourse
    Composer: Cathy Milliken
    Performers: Mr Vladimir Gorbach, Senior Lecturer in Guitar, Jessica Aszodi, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra and Benjamin Northey (conductor)
  • Title: Piano Sonata
    Composer: Elizabeth Younan, Master of Music (Composition)
    Performer: Joyce Yang
  • Title: The Audience Choir
    Composer: Alice Chance, First Class Honours in Composition
    Performers: Ensemble Offspring with audience participation

  • Title: The Howling Girls
    Composers: Dr Damien Ricketson, Program Leader of Bachelor of Music (Composition), Senior Lecturer of Composition and Music Technology
    Performers: Sydney Chamber Opera: Jane Sheldon (soprano), Adena Jacobs (director)

  • Performer: Taikoz, Riley Lee, Kaoru Watanabe, Sydney Symphony Orchestra and Gerard Salonga (conductor)
    Title: Breath of Thunder
    Composer: Lachlan Skipworth, Master of Music PhD
  • Performer: Ray Chen & Julien Quentin
    Title: Violin Sonata No. 1: Dark Matter
    Composer: Professor Matthew Hindson, Deputy Head of School, Deputy Dean, Associate Dean (Education)
    Publisher: Hal Leonard/Faber

  • Performer: Speak Percussion with Jessica Aszodi     
    Title: Atlas of the Sky
    Composer: Professor Liza Lim; texts by Bei Dao and Eliot Weinberger
    Publisher: Universal Music Publishing MGB obo Ricordi Berlinr
  • Mr Jeremy Rose, Bachelor in Music (First Class Honours), for high artistic excellence, and contribution to the creation, presentation and promotion of Australian jazz

  • Current PhD candidate, Andrea Keller, for new works, projects, recordings and educational output

The 2019 Art Music Awards will be held on Monday 19 August at The Great Hall of The University of Sydney.

Image credit: Polly Borland, courtesy Murray White Room, Melbourne for 'The Howling Girls