Skip to main content


There are several ways you can study Psychology at the University of Sydney.

Download the Psychology Study information guide for details of the options available to you.

The psychology program consists of 10 psychology units of study studied over the course of three years, which are required to proceed to an honours year (which is one of the steps on the path to becoming a registered psychologist).

See more

About this program

About this program

The psychology program is designed to both meet the requirements for accreditation so that students can engage in further training to become registered and practicing psychologists AND/OR to engage in higher degree research in one or more of the areas of Psychological Science.

Requirements for completion

A program in psychology requires 60 credit points, consisting of:

(i) 6 credit points of 2000-level selective units
(ii) 6 credit points of 3000-level core units
(iii) A 48 credit point major in Psychological Sciences. Note that the above units must be taken in addition to those chosen in the major.

Courses that offer this program

To commence study in the year

The course information on this website applies only to future students. Current students should refer to faculty handbooks for current or past course information.

To help you understand common terms that we use at the University, we offer an online glossary.