Skip to main content

Planning your course

Academic advice

Most faculties and schools have academic advisers who can provide advice about planning your course.

Architecture, design and planning program directors

Program Contact Email
Bachelor of Design in Architecture Mr Michael Muir michael.muir@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Design Computing
Bachelor of Design Computing/Bachelor of Advanced Studies
Dr Joel Fredericks joel.fredericks@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Design Computing/Bachelor of Advanced Studies (Honours) Dr Joel Fredericks joel.fredericks@sydney.edu.au
Design Major (Table S) Dr Naseem Ahmadpour naseem.ahmadpour@sydney.edu.au
Biological Design Major (Table S) Dr Phillip Gough phillip.gough@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Architecture & Environments

Dr Matthew Mindrup

Dr Laurence Troy

matthew.mindrup@sydney.edu.au

laurence.troy@sydney.edu.au

Master of Architecture Dr Paolo Stracchi paolo.stracchi@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Design in Architecture (Honours)/Master of Architecture Dr Ross James Anderson r.anderson@sydney.edu.au
Graduate Diploma & Master of Design Dr Leigh-Anne Hepburn leigh-anne.hepburn@sydney.edu.au
Master of Interaction Design & Electronic Arts Dr Luke Hespanhol luke.hespanhol@sydney.edu.au
Master of Heritage Conservation Associate Professor Cameron Logan cameron.logan@sydney.edu.au
Master of Urban Design Associate Professor Nancy Marshall

nancy.marshall@sydney.edu.au

Master of Urbanism Associate Professor Nancy Marshall nancy.marshall@sydney.edu.au
Master of Urban & Regional Planning Associate Professor Nancy Marshall nancy.marshall@sydney.edu.au
Urban Studies Major (Table S) Dr Ryan Jones

ryan.m.jones@sydney.edu.au

Master of Architectural Science Dr Daniel Ryan daniel.ryan@sydney.edu.au

Master of Architectural Science stream coordinators

Stream Contact Email
Audio and Acoustics Associate Professor Densil Cabrera densil.cabrera@sydney.edu.au
Illumination Design Dr Wenye Hu wenye.hu@sydney.edu.au
High Performance Buildings Dr Jungsoo Kim jungsoo.kim@sydney.edu.au
Sustainable Design Dr Daniel Ryan daniel.ryan@sydney.edu.au

Academic undergraduate student advisers

Your academic undergraduate student advisers are senior academics available to offer you advice and support throughout your studies. You can talk to them about a range of different topics including:

  • improving your academic performance
  • setting study goals
  • planning your degree and choosing subjects
  • understanding the range of different student support services available to you and accessing the best resources for your needs
  • what to do if you are struggling at university and need some advice.
Contact an academic undergraduate student adviser

Complete the online form to be connected with an academic undergraduate student adviser in your field of study.

If you are unable to submit an online academic advice registration form due to a system error and you urgently need to meet an academic student adviser, please send an email including your SID, full name and the reason of meeting an adviser to FASS Student Affairs and Engagement fass.progression@sydney.edu.au.

The following FAQ documents have been developed to assist FASS students. Before you contact an academic adviser, please download the document for your school (SSPS, SOH, SLC, SACE) or stream (INGS, Dalyell) and check to see if your question(s) are answered in the FAQs. If you aren’t sure who to speak to, contact the Student Affairs and Engagement team at fass.studentaffairsandengagement@sydney.edu.au and we’ll connect you with the right person.

Specialist portfolios

If you want to speak with a staff member from a specialist portfolio, use the contact list below.

Specialist portfolios Contact
Dalyell Scholars Program coordinator

Marian Vidal-Fernandez

Jane Park

Alexander Howard

Disability

Associate Professor David Evans - Faculty Disability Liaison Officer

Bachelor of International and Global Studies Director (INGS)

David Brophy - Program Director

Postgraduate coordinators

If you're a postgraduate student, you can contact your coordinator for support. They will be able to provide advice to you over email or face-to-face about a range of topics including support services available, degree planning and improving your performance.

Contact your postgraduate coursework coordinator

You can find a full list of postgraduate coursework coordinators in Canvas. Send an email using the contact details provided to a coursework coordinator in your field of study. In your email include who are, what you are studying and what you would like to discuss.

If you're studying in the Business School you can find contacts for advice in your Canvas hub:

For Business School students on the Academic Progression Register, please send an email to b.sapadmin@sydney.edu.au.

If you are studying at the Faculty of Engineering, it is recommended that you speak with your year adviser for academic advice. Please see the list of schools below, and email the relevant adviser for an appointment.

If you are a new student, you can visit Welcome to Engineering for more information.

If you're studying in the Sydney Law School, you can find the course and timetable information in Canvas.

Please email:

Sydney School of Health Sciences

Course directors
Discipline Course Contact

Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health

Bachelor of Health Sciences

Leigh Wilson
leigh.wilson@sydney.edu.au

Exercise and Sport Science

Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sports Science)

Kate Edwards
kate.edwards@sydney.edu.au

Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise Physiology)

Jacqui Raymond
jacqueline.raymond@sydney.edu.au

Combined Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sport Science) / Bachelor of Advance Studies

Janelle Gifford
janelle.gifford@sydney.edu.au

Master of Exercise Physiology

Nathan Johnson
nathan.jonhson@sydney.edu.au

Medical Imaging Sciences

Bachelor of Applied Science (Diagnostic Radiography)

Warren Reed
warren.reed@sydney.edu.au

Master of Diagnostic Radiography

Jillian Clarke
jillian.clarke@sydney.edu.au

Master of Health Science (Medical Radiation Sciences)/Master of Medical Imaging Science

Roger Bourne
roger.bourne@sydney.edu.au

Occupational Therapy

Bachelor of Applied Science (Occupational Therapy)


Josephine Gwynn
josephine.gwynn@sydney.edu.au

Master of Occupational Therapy

Sanetta Du Toit
sanet.dutoit@sydney.edu.au

Physiotherapy

Bachelor of Applied Science (Physiotherapy)

Marnee McKay
marnee.mckay@sydney.edu.au

Master of Physiotherapy

Tiffany Dwyer
tiffany.dwyer@sydney.edu.au

Rehabilitation Counselling

Master of Rehabilitation Counselling (+GDip)

Roxanna Pebdani
roxanna.pebdani@sydney.edu.au

Speech Pathology

Bachelor of Applied Science (Speech Pathology)

Maree Doble
maree.doble@sydney.edu.au

Master of Speech Language Pathology

Elizabeth Bourne
elizabeth.bourne@sydney.edu.au

Stream coordinators
Stream Contact

Bachelor of Science (Health) stream and Health major coordinator

Leigh Wilson
leigh.wilson@sydney.edu.au

Hearing and Speech major

Isabelle Boisvert
isabelle.boisvert@sydney.edu.au

Human Movement major

Melanie Keep
melanie.keep@sydney.edu.au

Disability and Participation major (available from 2020)

Kim Bulkeley
kim.bulkeley@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Dental School

Discipline Contact

Program Director, Doctor of Dental Medicine

Associate Professor Ayman Ellakwa
ayman.ellakwa@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Bachelor of Oral Health

Associate Professor Melanie Aley
melanie.aley@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Doctor of Clinical Dentistry

Professor Dale Howes
dale.howes@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Master of Dental Public Health

Professor Woosung Sohn
woosung.sohn@sydney.edu.au

Academic Lead, Education

Dr Delyse Leadbeatter
delyse.leadbeatter@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Medical School

Discipline Contact
  • Advanced Surgery
  • Clinical Surgery
  • Surgery
  • Surgical Anatomy

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

  • Brain and Mind Sciences
  • Psychiatry

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

  • Clinical Neurophysiology
  • Critical Care Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • Metabolic Health
  • Pharmaceutical and Medical Device Development

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

Sleep Medicine

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

  • Cataract and Refractive Surgery
  • Intrnational Ophthalmology
  • Ophthalmic Science

Discipline of Ophthalmology
ophthalmology.education@sydney.edu.au

Child and Adolescent Health

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

General Practice and Primary Health Care

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

Genomics and Precision Medicine

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

Sexual and Reproductive Health

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

Trauma-Informed Psychotherapy

Professional Education in Health
peh.education@sydney.edu.au

Clinical Trials Research

Adrienne Kirby
adrienne.kirby@sydney.edu.au

Infection and Immunity

Scott Byrne 
scott.byrne@sydney.edu.au

Medicine

Jane Bleasel
jane.bleasel@sydney.edu.au

Pain Management

Elizabeth Devonshire
liz.devonshire@sydney.edu.au

Leigh-Anne Funnell
leigh-anne.funnell@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Nursing School

Sydney Nursing School course advisers and coordinators can be found on the faculty website.

Sydney Pharmacy School

Program Contact

Program Director, Undergraduate

Dr Stephen Carter
stephen.carter@sydney.edu.au

Undergraduate Year 1 Coordinator

Dr Janet Cheung
janet.cheung@sydney.edu.au

Undergraduate Year 2 Coordinator

Dr Lifeng Kang
lifeng.kang@sydney.edu.au

Undergraduate Year 3 Coordinator

Dr Jonathan Penm
jonathan.penm@sydney.edu.au

Undergraduate Year 4 Coordinator

Andrew Bartlett
andrew.bartlett@sydney.edu.au

Honours Coordinator

Associate Professor Danijela Gnjidic
danijela.gnjidic@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Master of Pharmacy

Associate Professor Rebekah Moles
rebekah.moles@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Intern Training Program

Dr Irene Um
irene.um@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Graduate Certificate in Evidence-Based Complementary Medicines

Dr Joanna Harnett
joanna.harnett@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Higher Degree Research

Dr Ingrid Gelissen
ingrid.gelissen@sydney.edu.au

Sydney School of Public Health

Program

Contact

Bioethics

Biostatistics

Clinical Epidemiology

Global Health

  • Associate Professor Camille Raynes-Greenow
  • Dr Tanvir Huda
  • Dr Erin Hunter

sph.mgh-coordinator@sydey.edu.au

Health Policy

Indigenous Health Promotion

Public Health

  • Professor Tim Driscoll
  • Dr Ed Jegasothy
  • Dr Yvonne Laird

mph.coordinator@sydney.edu.au

Program leaders Contact Email
Undergraduate first year adviser Dr Narelle Yeo narelle.yeo@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Performance) /Bachelor of Music / Bachelor of Advanced Studies (Performance)/ Diploma of Music (Performance) Dr Vladimir Gorbach vladimir.gorbach@sydney.edu.au

Bachelor of Music (Composition)/ (Composition for Creative Industries)/ (Digital Music and Media)

Bachelor of Music/ Bachelor of Advanced Studies (Composition)/Diploma of Music (Composition) / (Composition for Creative Industries)/ (Digital Music and Media)/ Master of Music (Composition)

Dr Daniel Rojas daniel.rojas@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Music Education) Associate Professor Jennifer Rowley jennifer.rowley@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Jazz Studies)/Diploma of Music (Jazz Studies) Dr Kevin Hunt kevin.hunt@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Musicology major)/ Diploma of Music (Musicology)/ Master of Music (Musicology) Dr Alan Maddox alan.maddox@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Arts (Music major)/ Bachelor of Music (Contemporary Music Practice) Associate Professor Charles Fairchild charles.fairchild@sydney.edu.au
Postgraduate Coursework Assoc Professor Stephanie McCallum stephanie.mccallum@sydney.edu.au
Postgraduate Research (Performance) Associate Professor Helen Mitchell helen.mitchell@sydney.edu.au
PhD Associate Professor Kathleen Nelson kathleen.nelson@sydney.edu.au

If you're studying in the Faculty of Science, find out how to approach degree planning and academic advice on the Science Student portal on Canvas. If you are a new student, you can also visit Welcome to Science for more information.

There are many different contacts in the Faculty of Science for academic advice. You'll need to decide which contact best matches your study background/plans or the questions you have, and then contact them directly. You must tell the contact who you are, what you are studying, and what you’d like advice on.

Science academic advisers are academics available to offer you advice and support throughout your studies. You can talk to them about a range of different topics including:

  • strategies for managing your studies
  • improving your academic performance
  • understanding the range of different student support services available to you and accessing the best resources for your needs
  • what to do if you are struggling at university and need some advice.

You can find the full list of Science academic advisers in Canvas.

For unit of study advice, contact your unit of study coordinator (listed in the unit of study descriptions in your handbook) for assistance..

For advice about your course or course components, find a list of the relevant contacts on the Science Student portal on Canvas.

Student Centre

Online

Phone

1800 SYD UNI (1800 793 864)
or +61 2 8627 1444 (outside Australia)

Find out more about how we can help

Last updated: 30 November 2022

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.

Cancel