Skip to main content

Planning your course

Academic advice

Most faculties and schools have academic advisers who can provide advice about planning your course.

Architecture, design and planning program directors

Program Contact Email
Bachelor of Design in Architecture Mr Michael Muir michael.muir@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Design (Interaction Design)
Bachelor of Design (Interaction Design)/Hons
Bachelor of Design/Bachelor of Advanced Studies (Interaction Design) 

Dr Joel Fredericks

Associate Professor Ricardo Sosa

joel.fredericks@sydney.edu.au

ricardo.sosa@sydney.edu.au

Bachelor of Design Computing
Bachelor of Design Computing/Bachelor of Advanced Studies

Dr Joel Fredericks

Associate Professor Ricardo Sosa

joel.fredericks@sydney.edu.au

ricardo.sosa@sydney.edu.au

Bachelor of Design Computing/Bachelor of Advanced Studies (Honours)

Dr Joel Fredericks

Associate Professor Ricardo Sosa

joel.fredericks@sydney.edu.au

ricardo.sosa@sydney.edu.au

Design Major (Table S) Dr Naseem Ahmadpour naseem.ahmadpour@sydney.edu.au
Biological Design Major (Table S) Dr Phillip Gough phillip.gough@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Architecture & Environments

Dr Laurence Troy

Dr Anastasia Globa

laurence.troy@sydney.edu.au

anastasia.globa@sydney.edu.au

Master of Architecture Dr Rizal Muslimin rizal.muslimin@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Design in Architecture (Honours)/Master of Architecture Dr Jennifer Ferng jennifer.ferng@sydney.edu.au
Graduate Diploma & Master of Design Dr Mariana Zafeirakopoulos mariana.zafeirakopoulos@sydney.edu.au
Master of Interaction Design & Electronic Arts Dr Luke Hespanhol luke.hespanhol@sydney.edu.au
Master of Heritage Conservation Matt Devine matthew.devine@sydney.edu.au
Master of Urban Design Dr Ian Woodcock 

ian.woodcock@sydney.edu.au

Master of Urbanism Dr Ian Woodcock ian.woodcock@sydney.edu.au
Master of Urban & Regional Planning Dr Ian Woodcock ian.woodcock@sydney.edu.au
Urban Studies Major (Table S) Dr Pranita Shrestha

pranita.shrestha@sydney.edu.au

Master of Architectural Science Dr Emma Heffernan emma.heffernan@sydney.edu.au

Master of Architectural Science stream coordinators

Stream Contact Email
Audio and Acoustics Associate Professor Densil Cabrera densil.cabrera@sydney.edu.au
Illumination Design Dr Wenye Hu wenye.hu@sydney.edu.au
High Performance Buildings Dr Aysu Kuru (Semester 1) aysu.kuru@sydney.edu.au
Sustainable Design Dr Eugenia Gasparri eugenia.gasparri@sydney.edu.au

 

icon

Due to increased enquiries, there are currently significant waiting times to speak with an academic adviser. If you require enrolment assistance, please contact the Student Centre.

Students who have received an Academic Caution or Show Cause notification will have a request for academic advice lodged on their behalf and do not need to submit another request. 

As part of our FASS Student Success and Retention Program, students can meet with an academic adviser.

Academic advisers

Academic advisers are senior academics available to offer you advice and support throughout your studies. You can talk to them about a range of different topics including:

  • improving your academic performance
  • setting study goals
  • planning your degree and choosing subjects
  • understanding the range of different student support services available to you and accessing the best resources for your needs
  • what to do if you are struggling at university and need some advice.
Contacting an academic adviser

Advisers for students in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences can help you with advice specific to studies.

If you have already submitted an enquiry, you can view the current status of your request on the Student Academic Advice Dashboard. If you have received an Academic Caution or Show Cause notification, you will have a request for academic advice lodged on your behalf and therefore do not need to submit another request.

If you are unable to lodge your academic advice request due to a system error and you urgently need to meet an academic student adviser, please send an email including your SID, full name and the reason of meeting an adviser to FASS Student Affairs and Engagement fass.progression@sydney.edu.au.

The following FAQ documents have been developed specifically to assist undergraduate FASS students. Before you contact an academic adviser, please download the document for your school (SSPS, SOH, SLC, SACE) or stream (INGS, Dalyell) and check to see if your question(s) are answered in the FAQs. 

Specialist portfolios

If you want to speak with a staff member from a specialist portfolio, use the contact list below.

Specialist portfolios Contact
Disability

Associate Professor David Evans - Faculty Disability Liaison Officer

If you're studying in the Business School you can find contacts for advice in your Canvas hub:

For Business School students who have failed to satisfy Academic Progression Requirements, please refer to the Academic Progression Support information on the website.

If you are studying at the Faculty of Engineering, it is recommended that you speak with your year adviser for academic advice. Please see the list of schools below, and email the relevant adviser for an appointment.

If you are a new student, you can visit Welcome to Engineering for more information.

If you're studying in the Sydney Law School, you can find the course and timetable information in Canvas.

Please email:

School of Medical Sciences

Discipline Course Contact

Biomedical Science

  • Master of Biomedical Science (Genomics and Precision Medicine)
  • Master of Biomedical Science (Infection and Immunity)
Scott Byrne
scott.byrne@sydney.edu.au

Sydney School of Health Sciences

Course directors
Discipline Course Contact

Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health

Bachelor of Health Sciences

Maree Milross 
maree.milross@sydney.edu.au

Exercise and Sport Science

Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sports Science)

Janelle Gifford 
janelle.gifford@sydney.edu.au

Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise Physiology)

Jacqui Raymond
jacqueline.raymond@sydney.edu.au

Combined Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sport Science) / Bachelor of Advance Studies

Janelle Gifford
janelle.gifford@sydney.edu.au

Master of Exercise Physiology

Nathan Johnson
nathan.jonhson@sydney.edu.au

Medical Imaging Sciences

Bachelor of Applied Science (Diagnostic Radiography)

Warren Reed
warren.reed@sydney.edu.au

Master of Diagnostic Radiography

Jillian Clarke
jillian.clarke@sydney.edu.au

Master of Health Science (Medical Radiation Sciences)/Master of Medical Imaging Science

Roger Bourne
roger.bourne@sydney.edu.au

Occupational Therapy

Bachelor of Applied Science (Occupational Therapy)


Josephine Gwynn
josephine.gwynn@sydney.edu.au

Master of Occupational Therapy

Sanetta Du Toit
sanet.dutoit@sydney.edu.au

Physiotherapy

Bachelor of Applied Science (Physiotherapy)

Marnee McKay
marnee.mckay@sydney.edu.au

Master of Physiotherapy

Tiffany Dwyer
tiffany.dwyer@sydney.edu.au

Rehabilitation Counselling

Master of Rehabilitation Counselling (+GDip)

Roxanna Pebdani
roxanna.pebdani@sydney.edu.au

Speech Pathology

Bachelor of Applied Science (Speech Pathology)

Maree Doble
maree.doble@sydney.edu.au

Master of Speech Language Pathology

Elizabeth Bourne
elizabeth.bourne@sydney.edu.au

Stream coordinators
Stream Contact

Bachelor of Science (Health) stream and Health major coordinator

Maree Milross 
maree.milross@sydney.edu.au

Hearing and Speech major

Isabelle Boisvert
isabelle.boisvert@sydney.edu.au

Human Movement major

To be advised

Disability and Participation major (available from 2020)

Kim Bulkeley
kim.bulkeley@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Dental School

Discipline Contact

Program Director, Doctor of Dental Medicine

To be advised

Program Director, Bachelor of Oral Health

Associate Professor Melanie Aley
melanie.aley@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Doctor of Clinical Dentistry

Professor Dale Howes
dale.howes@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Master of Dental Public Health

Professor Woosung Sohn
woosung.sohn@sydney.edu.au

Academic Lead, Education

Dr Delyse Leadbeatter
delyse.leadbeatter@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Medical School

Discipline Contact
  • Advanced Surgery
  • Clinical Surgery
  • Surgery
  • Surgical Anatomy


Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

  • Brain and Mind Sciences
  • Psychiatry

Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

  • Clinical Neurophysiology
  • Critical Care Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • Metabolic Health
  • Pharmaceutical and Medical Device Development

Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

Sleep Medicine

Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

  • Cataract and Refractive Surgery
  • Intrnational Ophthalmology
  • Ophthalmic Science

Discipline of Ophthalmology
ophthalmology.education@sydney.edu.au

Child and Adolescent Health

Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

General Practice and Primary Health Care

Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

Genomics and Precision Medicine

Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

Sexual and Reproductive Health

Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

Trauma-Informed Psychotherapy

Clinical and Professional Development
cpd.education@sydney.edu.au

Clinical Trials Research

Adrienne Kirby
adrienne.kirby@sydney.edu.au

Infection and Immunity

Scott Byrne 
scott.byrne@sydney.edu.au

Doctor of Medicine

Stuart Lane
stuart.lane@sydney.edu.au

Pain Management

Elizabeth Devonshire
liz.devonshire@sydney.edu.au

Leigh-Anne Funnell
leigh-anne.funnell@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Nursing School

Sydney Nursing School course advisers and coordinators can be found on the faculty website.

Sydney Pharmacy School

Program Contact

Program Director, Undergraduate

Dr Stephen Carter
stephen.carter@sydney.edu.au

Undergraduate Year 1 Coordinator

Professor Paul Groundwater
paul.groundwater@sydney.edu.au

Undergraduate Year 2 Coordinator

Dr Lifeng Kang
lifeng.kang@sydney.edu.au

Undergraduate Year 3 Coordinator

Dr Jonathan Penm
jonathan.penm@sydney.edu.au

Undergraduate Year 4 Coordinator

Jocelyn Bussing
jocelyn.bussing@sydney.edu.au

Honours Coordinator

Associate Professor Danijela Gnjidic
danijela.gnjidic@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Master of Pharmacy

Associate Professor Fanfan Zhou
fanfan.zhou@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Intern Training Program

Simmie Chung
simmie.chung@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Graduate Certificate in Evidence-Based Complementary Medicines

Dr Joanna Harnett
joanna.harnett@sydney.edu.au

Program Director, Higher Degree Research

Dr Ingrid Gelissen
ingrid.gelissen@sydney.edu.au

Sydney School of Public Health

Program

Contact

Bioethics

Biostatistics

Clinical Epidemiology

Global Health

  • Associate Professor Seye Abimbola
  • Associate Professor Sarah Bernays

sph.mgh-coordinator@sydey.edu.au

Health Policy

Indigenous Health Promotion

Public Health

  • Professor Julie Mooney-Summers
  • Dr Heidi Gilchrist
  • Dr James Kite

mph.coordinator@sydney.edu.au

Program leaders Contact Email
Undergraduate first year adviser Mr Michael Duke michael.duke@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor/Diploma of Music (Performance)

Classical/historical performance: Dr Vladimir Gorbach

Jazz performance: Dr Steve Barry

Music Theatre: A/Professor Narelle Yeo

Non-western: Dr Lu Liu

Drum Set: Dr Simon Barker

vladimir.gorbach@sydney.edu.au

steve.barry@sydney.edu.au

narelle.yeo@sydney.edu.au

lu.liu@sydney.edu.au

s.barker@sydney.edu.au

Bachelor/Diploma of Music (Composition)

Dr Ivan Zavada  ivan.zavada@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor/Diploma of Music

Contemporary Music Practice: Dr Jadey O’Regan

 

Composition for Creative Industries: Dr Ivan Zavada

 

Digital Music and Media: Dr Ivan Zavada

 

Musicology major: David Larkin

jade.oregan@sydney.edu.au

 

ivan.zavada@sydney.edu.au

 

david.larkin@sydney.edu.au

Bachelor of Music (Music Education) Dr Jim Coyle jim.coyle@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Arts (Music major; Digital Music major) Associate Professor Daniel Rojas daniel.rojas@sydney.edu.au
Honours Professor Helen Mitchell helen.mitchell@sydney.edu.au
Master of Music Studies/Graduate Diploma in Music (Performance/Opera) Associate Professor Jeanell Carrigan jeanell.carrigan@sydney.edu.au
Postgraduate Research (Performance) Professor Helen Mitchell helen.mitchell@sydney.edu.au
PhD Professor Christopher Coady christopher.coady@sydney.edu.au

If you're studying in the Faculty of Science, find out how to approach degree planning and academic advice on the Science Student portal on Canvas. If you are a new student, you can also visit Welcome to Science for more information.

There are many different contacts in the Faculty of Science for academic advice. You'll need to decide which contact best matches your study background/plans or the questions you have, and then contact them directly. You must tell the contact who you are, what you are studying, and what you’d like advice on.

Science academic advisers are academics available to offer you advice and support throughout your studies. You can talk to them about a range of different topics including:

  • strategies for managing your studies
  • improving your academic performance
  • understanding the range of different student support services available to you and accessing the best resources for your needs
  • what to do if you are struggling at university and need some advice.

You can find the full list of Science academic advisers in Canvas.

For unit of study advice, contact your unit of study coordinator (listed in the unit of study descriptions in your handbook) for assistance..

For advice about your course or course components, find a list of the relevant contacts on the Science Student portal on Canvas.

Student Centre

Online

Phone

1800 SYD UNI (1800 793 864)
or +61 2 8627 1444 (outside Australia)

Find out more about how we can help

Last updated: 21 February 2024

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.

Cancel