Skip to main content

LGBTIQ - Pride Network

  1. Pride Network
  2. LGBTIQ contacts and support

LGBTIQ contacts and support

LGBTIQ student support liaison officers

The LGBTIQ Student Support Liaison Officers (SSLOs) are staff volunteers who have received specialised training to support student transition and gender affirmation.

They promote inclusion and support for LGBTIQ students at the University and can provide information about resources to promote health, safety and connection with other students and the community.

Name

Email

Faculty/School

Andrew Terry

a.terry@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Dentistry School

Cat Webb

cat.webb@sydney.edu.au

School of Psychology

Celine Van Golde

celine.vangolde@sydney.edu.au

School of Psychology

Christie Adamson

christie.adamson@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Nursing School

Christopher Hunt

christopher.hunt@sydney.edu.au

School of Psychology

Dale Dominey-Howes

dale.dominey-howes@sydney.edu.au

School of Geosciences

Daniele Gianotti

daniele.gianotti@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Medical School

David Thompson

d.thompson@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Eleonora Tsiknas Kazantzis

eleonora.kazantzis@sydney.edu.au

Faculty of Arts and Social Science

Eugenia Gasparri eugenia.gasparri@sydney.edu.au Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning  

Fahad Ali

fahad.ali@sydney.edu.au

School of Life and Environmental Sciences

Gemma Smart

gemma.smart@sydney.edu.au

School of History and Philosophy of Science

John Ormerod

john.ormerod@sydney.edu.au

School of Mathematics and Statistics

Jonathan Hill

jonathan.hill@sydney.edu.au

Concord Clinical School

Mark Conti

mark.conti@sydney.edu.au

The University of Sydney Business School

Matthew Pye

matthew.pye@sydney.edu.au

School of Life and Environmental Sciences

Netani Ralulu

netani.ralulu@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Nursing School

Owen Vandenberg

owen.vandenberg@sydney.edu.au

School of Physics

Timothy Humphrys

timothy.humphrys@sydney.edu.au

School of Mathematics and Statistics

Timothy Lee

t.lee@sydney.edu.au

School of Life and Environmental Sciences

Wes Hamilton-Jessop

wes.hamilton.jessop@sydney.edu.au

University of Sydney Business School

Other support and resources

University of Sydney

  • Queer Action Collective (QuAC) – an active collective, hosting and organising activities and events throughout the year to build a strong, inclusive community.

University of Sydney Union (USU):

  • The Queerspace – an autonomous room on campus open to all queer-identifying and questioning students.
  • SHADES – a society at the University that organises social events for LGBTIQ students and their friends.
  • Queer Revue – an all-singing, all-dancing comedic production put on at the Seymour Centre every year by queer and queer-friendly students.

Sydney University Postgraduate Representative Association (SUPRA):

  • SUPRA Queer Network  - an equity network representing and supporting queer-identifying postgraduate students.

Community support

  • Twenty10 – a community-based, non-profit, state-wide organisation providing a range of support services for people of diverse genders, sexes and sexualities, their families and communities.
  • ACON – a Sydney based not-for-profit that actively promotes LGBT and health, and runs regular workshops targeted at providing support and health awareness.
  • QLife - Australia's first nationally-oriented counselling and referral service for people who are LGBTI.
  • National LGBTI Health Alliance - The national peak health organisation in Australia for organisations and individuals that provide health-related programs, services and research focused on LGBTI and other sexuality, gender, and bodily diverse people and communities.
  • The Gender Centre - services for the transgender and gender diverse community, their partners, family members and friends including accommodation, counselling, education and training.
  • Organisation Intersex International Australia - a national body by and for people with intersex variations, promoting human rights and bodily autonomy for intersex people and providing information, education and peer support.
  • Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome Support Group Australia (AIS) - a peer support information and advocacy group for people affected by AIS and/or related intersex variations, and their families.
  • Minus 18 - Australia's largest youth-led network for LGBTI youth, providing support and peer mentoring to LGBTI young leaders.
  • Ankali - The Ankali Project trains and supports volunteers who then provide emotional and social support to people living with HIV.
  • Australian Lesbian Medical Association (ALMA) - a supportive network for lesbian doctors, medical students and their partners.
  • Gay and Married Men's Association (GAMMA) - a safe and confidential forum for men to discuss and consider issues relating to their sexuality and the relationships in their lives.

Study and employment

  • Pride in Diversity - the national not-for-profit employer support program for LGBTI workplace inclusion, specialising in HR, organisational change and workplace diversity.
  • Out for Australia - supporting and mentoring aspiring LGBTIQ professionals as they navigate their way through the early stages of their careers.
  • The Pinnacle Foundation - providing scholarships to LGBTI+ students who are marginalised or disadvantaged.

Rights

  • Anti-Discrimination Board - promotes anti-discrimination, equal opportunity principles and policies throughout NSW and administers anti-discrimination laws of the state.
  • Gay and Lesbian Rights Lobby (GLRL) - Advocates on behalf of lesbians and gay men. They also provide referral and educative resources on gay and lesbian rights to the media, policy makers and the community.
  • Human Rights Commission - identifies and builds community awareness around the human rights issues faced by lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and intersex people and makes it unlawful to discriminate against such persons.
  • The Inner City Legal Centre (ICLC) - provides free and confidential legal service statewide for the NSW LGBTIQ community. They also run the Safe Relationship Project, which assists LGBTIQ individuals who are experiencing or escaping an abusive relationship.
Last updated: 18 May 2020

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.

Cancel