Skip to main content


Excellence in research
SSSHARC curates a changing roster of interdisciplinary and collaborative research nodes that foreground excellence, innovation, creativity and engagement in the humanities and social sciences at their broadest stretch.
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Our people are leading the critical evaluation of the impact of digital technologies on society and culture. Current projects focus on digital policy and regulation; engaging publics in a digital age; platforms, data and artificial intelligence; and games, play and the metaverse.  


Digital Technologies and Society -  Professor Terry Flew


Education Futures Studio - Professor Kalervo Gulson

Education Innovations White Paper Series

Automated Essay Scoring in Australian Schools: Key Issues and Recommendations

White Paper, November 2022

This white paper outlines critical issues associated with the use of Automated Essay Scoring (AES) technology in the Australian education system. AES cannot be approached from one dimension or scale. Educators, policymakers, and EdTech companies must work together to frame the use of AES in schools as a multi-scalar issue with interrelated ethical, social, technical, and political implications. While it is not recommended that AES be used in high-stakes testing, it is likely that AES will be widely adopted across time. There is now an opportunity for Australia to lead the way in the collective development of AES guidance, policy, and regulation.

Education Innovations Policy Brief Series

Automated Essay Scoring in Australian Schools: Collective Policymaking 

Policy Brief, November 2022

This policy brief outlines the ways in which the Automated Essay Scoring (AES) sphere of impact is distributed across multiple stakeholders, locations and jurisdictions. Global developments indicate that AES is likely to become attractive to education system leaders in Australia in coming years. The complexity of AES systems cannot be resolved by a single stakeholder or siloed solutions. Collective policymaking across scales is necessary to identify networked tensions and possibilities in education. Interconnected learning, experimentation, and policymaking is urgently required. Multidimensional and multi-scalar action must happen now.


Our researchers are working on solutions to inequality using everything from counterfactual policy analysis to queer social theory. Current projects focus on the Australian superannuation system and its impact on old-age poverty, the asset economy, and the intergenerational transfer of wealth.

The Asset Economy

Inequality in Australia: Housing in the Asset Society - Professor Lisa Adkins, Professor Martijn Konings, Associate Professor Dallas Rogers

Superannuation in Australia - Professor Mariano Kulish, Professor Greg Kaplan, Associate Professor Aarti Singh, and Senior Lecturer Christian Gillitzer

Our researchers are committed to methodological innovation and integrity. Current projects advance the computational social sciences and expand notions of research co-design and creative practise research.

Computational Social Science Lab - Dr Olga Boichak

Corridor Cultures: A community-led approach to preventing gendered violence at school - Dr Victoria Rawlings

ART, PLAY, RISK: An interdisciplinary approach to child-friendly cities - Dr Sanne Mestrom

2022 Fellowship Collaborations

 Our current Gilbert Fellows are:
  • Professor Sven Beckert (Harvard) working with Dr Sophie Loy-Wilson on the importance of to histories of capitalism in settler colonialism.  

Applications for 2023 are now closed and a new round will open in 2023.

 Our current Hunt-Simes Fellows are:

  • Professor Susanna Paasonen (Turku) working on intimacy, sexual expression and platform governance in social media with Professor Kane Race.
  • Professor Jen Gilbert (York, CA) collaborating with Dr Kellie Burns and Dr Victoria Rawlings around the development of an international network of interdisciplinary sexuality and education researchers. 
  • Associate Professor Srila Roy (Witwatersrand) working on bringing an analytical frame to the politics of gender and sexuality in the Global South with Dr Shawna Tang, Professor Adam Morton and Associate Professor Elizabeth Hill.

Applications for 2023 are now closed and a new round will open in 2023.

Our current James Fellows are:

  • Professor Ros Gill (CUL) working with Professor Lisa Adkins on neoliberalism and the asset economy.
  • Professor Meredith Weiss (SUNY, Albany) working with Dr Aim Sinpeng on urban governance, racial and social justice, and socio-political development in Malaysia. 

Applications for 2023 are now closed and a new round will open in 2023.

Image: Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash