Skip to main content
Image: Biljana Jancic, Exit Strategies, 2016. CCTV camera, image splitter, 5 channel video projection. Photo by Ian Hobbs.

Galleries and exhibitions

Showcasing works to the University and broader arts communities

At Sydney College of the Arts we have an active gallery program of exhibitions featuring works by Australian and international contemporary visual artists and designers, staff, students and graduates.

UPDATE: In light of COVID-19 developments, we regret to inform that our exhibition program will be postponed until further notice. Learn more about the University’s advice regarding COVID-19 here.

Our galleries are an important resource and educational platform for students and staff. Through our galleries we offer opportunities to experience the curatorial process, to prepare and deliver an exhibition, and to build professional and academic networks.

The galleries also provide a space for staff and visiting professional artists, scholars and curators to develop, experiment and present research and artistic works to the college and broader arts communities.

By providing access to a range of challenging and innovative exhibitions and events, the galleries contribute signficantly to the public's understanding and appreciation of contemporary art.

Each year we hold the Fauvette Loureiro Memorial Scholarship exhibition.

In 2020, the Scholarship will be awarded in two categories:

  • $10,000.00 emerging Scholarship for artists within five years of graduating from Sydney College of the Arts – either undergraduate or postgraduate study; and
  • $30,000.00 mid-career/established Scholarship for artists who graduated six or more years ago from Sydney College of the Arts – either undergraduate or postgraduate study

The Scholarships are open to practising, professional artists working in any discipline and must be used to support a program of professional development through travel.

Past recipients include: Chris Dolm (2019),  Penelope Cain (2018), Nick Dorey (2017), Biljana Jancic (2016), Julian Day (2015), Jonny Niesche (2014), Vicky Browne (2013), Mark Shorter (2012), Alana Hunt (2011) and Justene Williams (2010).