Business school students receive highest recognition

20 June 2018
Students' entry to honour society
A large group of University of Sydney Business School students have been honoured through admittance to an exclusive honour society.
Associate Professor Dirk Hovorka

Associate Professor Dirk Hovorka

A large group of University of Sydney Business School students have been honoured with what has been described as the “highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive” through admittance to an exclusive honour society.

166 members were admitted to Beta Gamma Sigma, the international honour society for business programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International.

Its mission “is to encourage and honour academic achievement in the study of business, to foster personal and professional excellence and to advance the values of the Society,” according to the Business School’s Beta Gamma Sigma Secretary, Wes Hamilton-Jessop.

“As the only university in Australia that has established a Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter, this exemplifies the Business School’s support of students in their learning and educational experience, and the recognition of their achievements,” said Mr Hamilton-Jessop.

“I am extremely honoured to be a part of Beta Gamma Sigma. It has enabled me to meet and forge friendships with likeminded individuals who are as passionate about business as I am,” said inductee Kevin Wang.

"The professional development opportunities on offer provide us with a platform to exchange ideas and propose innovative solutions to challenges in today’s dynamic business environment,” said Kevin.

To be eligible for recognition, undergraduate and postgraduate students must be within the top 10 per cent of their cohort, based on their weighted average mark (WAM).

“Induction into Beta Gamma Sigma reflects our members' hard work, and dedication in their academic and extra-curricular pursuits and their commitment to the values of our society, Beta, Gamma, Sigma, signifying honour, wisdom and earnestness as they embark on their business careers,” said Oliver Pang, the Student President of the Business School’s Chapter.

The prestigious United States based AACSB is a nonprofit organisation of educational institutions, businesses and other groups devoted to the advancement of management education.

Beta Gamma Sigma was established in 1913 and now has collegiate chapters on five continents. There are also 45 Alumni Chapters and numerous Alumni groups which provide networking, speaker events, and other opportunities for local BGS members.

The chapter honouree award, which recognises outstanding business and community leaders, was presented to Meredith Scott, the CEO of Opportunity International Australia.

Ms Scott has over 30 years’ experience at the professional services firm, Ernst & Young. This year, she left professional services to become the CEO of Opportunity International Australia, a company which exists to improve justice, dignity and purpose for families living in poverty.

The inaugural 2018 Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year award was presented to Associate Professor of Business Information Systems, Dirk Hovorka. Current members selected the recipient based on his encouragement of business and management students’ high academic achievement, his fostering of student commitment to the society’s principles and values, and his support of the advancement of business to encourage lifelong learning.

Beta Gamma Sigma inductees

Beta Gamma Sigma inductees