Abercrombie Building staircase

Our people

Meet our key academic and research staff
The Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies is home to some of Australia’s, and the world’s, leading academics in transportation, logistics and supply chain management.
Professor David Hensher

Professor David Hensher

Professor David Hensher AM is the Founding Director of the Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies.

He is one of Australia's most eminent transport academics and is in constant demand as an adviser to industry and government.

An internationally recognised authority in transport and infrastructure and Australia's most cited transport academic, David has been awarded numerous Australian Research Council grants and industry and governments grants.

A recipient of several academic and industry awards, David contributes and advises at an executive level across many government and private sector organisations on matters related to transportation and infrastructure. He has published extensively, over 700 papers and has a google Citation score of over 65,000 which makes him the most cited transport academic in Australia.

Read the iMOVE CRC interview with David.

Professor David Hensher AM
Director and Professor of Management

Professor Rico Merkert
Deputy Director and Chair in Transport and Supply Chain Management

Professor Matthew Beck
Professor in Infrastructure Management

Professor Michael Bell
Chair in Ports and Maritime Logistics

Professor Michiel Bliemer
Chair in Transport Planning and Modelling

Professor Ben Fahimnia
Chair in Decision Sciences

Professor Stephen Greaves
Chair in Transport Management

Professor John Nelson
Chair in Public Transport

Professor Corinne Mulley
Professor Emerita

Professor John Rose
Neil Smith Research Chair in Sustainable Transport Futures

Professor Peter Stopher
Emeritus Professor


Dr Jyoti Bhattacharjya
Lecturer in Procurement and Digital Supply Chain Initiatives

Dr Geoffrey Clifton 
Senior Lecturer in Transport and Logistics Management

Dr Andrew Collins
Senior Lecturer in Logistics and Supply Chain Management

Associate Professor Chinh Ho
Associate Professor in Data Analytics in Logistics & GIS

Dr Andrea Pellegrini
Lecturer in Sustainable Mobility and Accessibility

Dr Supun Perera
Senior Research Fellow

Dr Mark Raadsen
Research Fellow

Dr Edward Wei
Research Fellow

Dr Yuting Zhang
Research Fellow

Thiranjaya Kandanaarachchi
Research Fellow

Wen Liu
Senior Research Analyst

Dr Camila Balbontin
Honorary Research Fellow

Associate Professor William Bryant
Honorary Associate Professor

Peter Creeden
Adjunct Senior Lecturer

Dr Kam Fung Cheung
Honorary Associate

Dr Christopher Day
Honorary Associate

Matt Faber
Honorary Associate

Muhammad Fayyaz
Honorary Associate

Professor Xiaowen Fu
Honorary Professor of Aviation and Maritime Management

Professor Glenn Geers
Adjunct Professor

Professor William Greene
Honorary Professor of Transport Econometrics

Professor Stephane Hess
Honorary Professor of Choice Modelling

Dr David Johnstone
Honorary Professor

Professor William H K Lam
Honorary Professor

Professor David Levinson
Honorary Associate

Professor Zheng Li
Honorary Professor

Professor Martin Locke
Adjunct Professor

Dr Miguel Loyola Borja
Honorary Associate

Dr Emily Moylan
Honorary Associate

Dr Mohsen Ramezan
Honorary Associate

Jersey Seipel
Adjunct Lecturer in Humanitarian Logistics

Dr Göran Smith
Honorary Senior Principal Research Fellow

Professor John Stanley
Adjunct Professor, Bus Industry Confederation Senior Fellow in Sustainable Land Transport

Professor Truong Truong
Honorary Professor of Sustainable Transport Systems

Professor Jake Whitehead
Adjunct Professor

Alan Win
Honorary Professor

Yale Wong
Honorary Associate

Dr Haoning Xi
Honorary Postdoctoral Fellow

Dr Shengda Zhu
Honorary Associate

Marc Mehrer
TU&M Munich
01 Feb 2024- 15 April 2024

Sergio Mauricio Prolo Santos Junior
University Federal De Santa Catarina Brazil
5 February - 26 July 2024

Stephane Hess
ITS Leeds University -UK
30 October - 10 November 2023

Stephen Ison
De Montfort University
29 July - 2 September 2023

Christoph Köster
Technische Universität München
5 April to 24 June 2023

Christian Bücker
University of Cambridge
16 January - 19 May 2023

Anne Odile Peschel
Aarhus University
27 February to 30 April 2023

Francesco Viti
Luxembourg University
12 December - 31 August 2023

Allister Loder
Technical University of Munich (TUM)
6 March - 24 March 2023

Maryam Roudneshin
University College Dublin
11 October - 20 November 2022

Ruben Akse
Radboud University, the Netherlands
4 September - 18 November 2022

Esther de Bekker-Grob
Erasmus University Rotterdam
1 May - 1 September 2022

Our Board of Advice actively supports the continued development and utilisation of ITLS as a centre of excellence adding value to the community. The academic and commercial membership of the Board gives a broad network for the sharing of expertise and experience.