Skip to main content
PMI award winners

Award winner for excellence in continuing education in projects

PMI Continuing Professional Education Provider of the Year Award

The John Grill Centre has been recognised for exceptional skills in the delivery and implementation of continuing education by the Project Management Institute.

The Project Management Institute (PMI) Australia hosted its 2017 Awards at a Gala Dinner in Sydney on 29 May 2017. The University of Sydney's John Grill Centre for Project Leadership was awarded the Continuing Professional Education Provider of the Year Award for its Executive Leadership in Major Projects (ELMP) program. The award recognises and honours exceptional skills in the delivery and implementation of a professional development program in project, program, or portfolio management, requiring the provider to demonstrate significant positive impact on its participants.

Marc Vogts accepts award

Marc Vogts accepts the PMI award

On accepting the award Marc Vogts thanked PMI for the recognition and expressed how valuable this award was in helping to elevate “the importance of building capability of teams leading projects to help organisations deliver success.”

Marc thanked PMI for recognising that the John Grill Centre and the ELMP program had “levelled up and lifted the game of success in project management," noting that the team had “developed a truly transformational program for those who are leading projects – a program which has been developed in full collaboration with industry.

Dr Maurizio Floris, ELMP Program Director said the “impact of the ELMP program for organisations is considerable, whether it is improvement of the capabilities of the project leaders, spearheading challenges in their current projects or implementing new practices back into the organisation.”

Other award winners on the evening included:

  • Project of the Year - Victorian level crossing team - Burke North McKinnon Centre
  • Project Management Office (PMO) of the Year – Information Technology team Reserve Bank of Australia
  • Distinguished Contribution to PMI –Benjamin Howell, PMI Sydney Chapter President

Founded in 1969, PMI delivers value for more than 480,000 members, nearly 775,000 credential holders, and more than 2.9 million professionals working in nearly every country in the world through global advocacy, collaboration, education, and research.

Find out when and where the next  PMI Australia Conference will be held.