Matriculation scholarships

Recognising excellence in the HSC
These scholarships are awarded to students based on their results in the HSC and other eligibility criteria. You will be automatically considered and do not need to apply.

The value of these scholarships are based on investment income and vary from year to year.

Scholarship Value Eligibility

AJ Shearsby Prize

  • Proficiency in HSC geology
  • Enrolling in geology
Alexander Donald Scholarship $5000
  • Full-time in a Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Advanced Studies (Animal and Veterinary Bioscience) or Bachelor of Veterinary Biology/Doctor of Veterinary Medicine student
  • Achieved the highest mark in the NSW HSC
  • Sydney Grammar School graduate
Cecilie Purves Memorial Prize Varied (for 3 years)
  • Sydney Church of England Grammar School student
  • Proficiency in the HSC
Cooper Scholarship No. II Varied (for 1 year)
  • Proficiency in the classics
Garton Scholarship No. III  Varied (for 1 year) 
  • Proficiency in HSC French 
  • Enrolling in French unit of study
GC Halliday Scholarship Varied (for 2 years)
  • Sydney Grammar School student
  • Proficiency in the HSC
  • Enrolling in arts and social sciences, law, science or engineering
Grahame Prize Medal Varied (for 1 year)
  • Most proficient at the university examinations for scholarships at entrance to the University
Horner Exhibition Scholarship $1000
  • Enrolled in at least 6 credit points of mathematics and statistics units of study in your first year
  • Achieved the highest marks and completed NSW HSC Mathematics Extension 1 and Mathematics Extension 2 in the previous year
John West Medal Varied (for 1 year)
  • Proficiency in the HSC
Kambala Scholarship Varied (for 1 year)
  • Kambala Church of England Girls' School
  • Proficiency in the HSC
Killeen Prize Varied (for 1 year)
  • Fort Street High School student
  • Proficiency in the HSC
Lithgow Scholarship No. I Varied (for 1 year)
  • Proficiency in HSC German
  • Enrolling in German unit of study
Liversidge Scholarships $5000
  • Australian citizen or Australian permanent resident
  • Completed the HSC or equivalent
  • Minimum ATAR of 95 or equivalent
  • Commencing full-time undergraduate, combined or double degree at the Faculty of Science
Miriam Josepha Makinson Memorial Prize Varied (for 1 year)
  • North Sydney Girls' High School student
  • Proficiency in the HSC
Plumian Scholarship $1000
  • Commencing an undergraduate, double or combined degree in the Faculty of Science
  • Minimum ATAR of 95 or equivalent
  • Enrolled in 6 credit points of biological sciences, chemistry, physics or geology in each semester of first year