Skip to main content
Science faculty staff collaborating at a white board

Our people

Committed to fostering science excellence

Our leadership team encompasses representatives from all areas of science, working collaboratively to improve and enhance the faculty’s teaching and research.
Portrait of Professor Iain Young, Dean of Faculty of Science

Dean, Faculty of Science

Professor Iain Young 

Professor Young is a biophysicist who works at the interface of physics and biology, using soil as a model system to examine functionality in complex porous media over space and time.

Before joining the University of Sydney, as the inaugural head of the University’s School of Life and Environmental Sciences in 2016, Professor Young spent six years as a head of school at the University of New England, following extensive experience leading major research groups in his native country of Scotland.

Professor Young took a Bachelor of Science with honours and a PhD in soil physics at the University of Aberdeen before commencing his academic career at the Scottish Crop Research Institute.

His academic work crosses the boundaries of modelling and experimentation and he is known internationally in these areas, particularly in the functional quantification of the 3D architecture of soil and how the spatio-temporal processes of such complex structures impact on microbial and plant life and vice-versa.

Associate Deans

Nominated academics

Academic leaders


Undergraduate degree coordinators

  • Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Advanced Studies stream: Agriculture, Agroecosystems
    Associate Professor Tina Bell
  • Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Advanced Studies including advanced stream
    Associate Professor Peter Rutledge
  • Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Advanced Studies stream: Animal Veterinary Bioscience and Bachelor of Veterinary Biology
    Dr Gary Muscatello
  • Bachelor of Psychology and Psychological Science
    Associate Professor Ian Johnston
  • Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Advanced Studies stream: Food and Agribusiness
    Associate Professor Thomas Roberts
  • Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Advanced Studies stream: Health
    Dr Rowena Forsyth
  • Bachelor of Liberal Arts and Science
    Professor Fiona White
  • Bachelor of Medical Science and Stream Coordinator (Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Advanced Studies stream: Medical Science)
    Professor Philip Poronnik


Postgraduate program directors


Current students can find academic advisor contacts on Canvas.

Please find a researcher (academic profiles) or refer to the staff directory  for contact information.

To find out more about our research expertise or disciplines, please visit our research section.