Skip to main content

Did you mean: ian johnston?

Results that match 1 of 2 words

Opinion_

Explainer: how to cut through to anti-vaxxers and anti-fluoriders

Six ways to cut through to anti-vaxxers. A public health expert, Dr Claire Hooker, shares how to debunk 'alternative facts' of public health risks.
www.sydney.edu.au/news-opinion/news/2017/02/15/explainer--how-to-cut-through-to-anti-vaxxers-and-anti-fluorider.html
Opinion_

Scientists should take a leaf out of wellness bloggers' books

Behavioural economist Dan Ariely speaks about how we justify our irrational behaviour by telling ourselves convincing stories that provide us with rational logic - and then we believe ourselves.
www.sydney.edu.au/news-opinion/news/2015/08/14/scientists-should-take-a-leaf-out-of-wellness-bloggers--books.html
Opinion_

Bushfires left millions of animals dead. We should use them, not bury them

University experts say animal carcasses can play a positive role as landscapes recover from bushfires, providing rich nutrients for other native animal, microbial and plant species.
www.sydney.edu.au/news-opinion/news/2020/01/17/bushfires-left-millions-of-animals-dead-we-should-use-them-not-bury-them.html
Opinion_

Academics must cut the tentacles that threaten to strangle them

Academics must cut the tentacles that threaten to strangle them. 4 November 2015. The unfettered quest for new knowledge is crucial for innovation and progress. New knowledge generated by publicly funded research should be quickly and easily
www.sydney.edu.au/news-opinion/news/2015/11/04/academics-must-cut-the-tentacles-that-threaten-to-strangle-them.html
Opinion_

What medicines would we pack for a trip to Mars?

What medicines would we pack for a trip to Mars? 12 October 2015. Thanks to decades of space flight, we can make appropriate plans for the types and amounts of medicines needed for a trip to Mars. Other than some quick self-surgery at the start, the
www.sydney.edu.au/news-opinion/news/2015/10/12/what-medicines-would-we-pack-for-a-trip-to-mars-.html
Opinion_

If lawful firearm owners cause most gun deaths, what can we do?

If lawful firearm owners cause most gun deaths, what can we do? 7 October 2015. In the frustrating struggle to identify gun killers in advance, we could have been looking in the wrong place, writes Philip Alpers. By accepting the common mantra that
www.sydney.edu.au/news-opinion/news/2015/10/07/if-lawful-firearm-owners-cause-most-gun-deaths--what-can-we-do-1.html
Opinion_

Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders: 'Hidden' problem is more pervasive than we thought

Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders more pervasive than first thought. 4 November 2015. Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders pervade every stratum of society – it is not simply a diagnosis of the disadvantaged. We need to change community attitudes to
www.sydney.edu.au/news-opinion/news/2015/11/04/fetal-alcohol-spectrum-disorders---hidden--problem-is-more-perva.html