Two students walking through the Anderson Stuart building

Transferring students

How to transfer from another university or change your course
Find out how to transfer to the University of Sydney, or change your course after you’ve started, and what you need to know about applying for credit for previous study.

The following information is for undergraduate students, postgraduate students should refer to how to apply.

Transfer from another university

Students from other universities and colleges can transfer into most of our undergraduate degrees. Your application will be assessed based on your ATAR (or equivalent) or university results – whichever gives you the best chance of receiving an offer. Your university results will only be considered if you have completed at least one year of full-time university study (or part-time equivalent).

The University of Sydney is a member of the Group of Eight (Go8) Credit Transfer Agreement. Universities of the Go8 have agreed to maximise the opportunities for student mobility between them by facilitating the transfer of credit earned at their institutions.

You will need to either:

Learn more about how to apply.

Credit for previous study

Transferring students may also be eligible for credit for studies you have already completed, that may help you to reduce your course duration and cost.

Learn more about credit for undergraduate study and how to apply for credit as a domestic student or international student.

Change your course

Many students choose to transfer courses. If your interests have changed, if you didn't meet the admission criteria or if you didn't get the required ATAR, you may decide to apply for a similar degree at the University of Sydney, and transfer after completing a year of study.

Once you have started at the University of Sydney, you will find all the information on how to transfer courses as a current student.

You can apply to have completed units of study credited towards your new degree as a form of recognition of prior learning (RPL) so that you won't have to repeat similar units.

Contact us

  • Student Centre, Level 3
    Jane Foss Russell Building, Darlington Campus

    Opening hours:
    9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday

Make an enquiry