Skip to main content

Diploma of Language Studies

Degree structure and requirements

To qualify for the award of the Diploma of Language Studies, a candidate must successfully complete 48 credit points chosen from any of the subject areas listed below, which may include an optional major or minor.

Majors, minors and subject areas

A major consists of 48 credit points in a single subject area. A minor consists of 36 credit points in a single subject area.

In the Diploma of Language Studies, students may select to complete a major or a minor from the specified Table A subject areas offered by the Faculty of Arts and Social Arts to fulfil the requirements of their degree.

Available majors or subject areas:


Students enrolled in the Diploma of Language Studies can complete elective units of study from the subject areas specified above from Table A (Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences) as well as specified elective units in Tibetan and Classical Hebrew. The available units of study are listed in the Table A Subject Areas or Diploma of Language Studies elective units of study of this handbook.