Skip to main content

Doctor of Philosophy

The Faculty of Engineering offers postgraduate research degrees at master's and doctorate level:

  • Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • Doctor of Engineering (DEng)

The University of Sydney introduced a new coursework requirement for Higher Degree by Research students commencing from Research Period 1 2021.

Coursework is intended to give students the opportunity to take units of study that expand their existing skills or work toward developing novel capabilities that will complement their research and career development.

Units of study to fulfil the Higher Degree by Research coursework requirement are listed in Table R of the Interdisciplinary Studies Handbook.

Students can enrol in units of study in Sydney Student and plan professional and academic development activities with their supervisors in the Research Education Candidature System. Award requirements for each degree are outlined in the respective course resolutions.

The Rules governing the degrees of Doctor of Philosophy and Doctor of Engineering are the University of Sydney (Higher Degree by Research) Rule 2011 (as amended) and the Thesis and Examination of Higher Degree by Research Policy 2015.

The most recent versions of these rules are found on the Policy Register.