Skip to main content
University_

Senate

The Senate is the governing authority of the University of Sydney

The Senate oversees all major decisions concerning the conduct of the University.

The University of Sydney Senate is responsible for staff appointments and welfare, student welfare and discipline, financial matters and the physical and academic development of the University. It also awards all degrees and diplomas and is responsible to the Parliament of NSW.

The Senate's primary responsibilities are:

  • appointing the Vice-Chancellor as the principal executive officer of the University, and monitoring their performance
  • approving the mission and strategic direction of the University, as well as the annual budget and business plan
  • overseeing and reviewing the management of the University and its performance
  • establishing policy and procedural principles, consistent with legal requirements and community expectations
  • approving and monitoring systems of control and accountability, including general overview of any controlled entities
  • overseeing and monitoring the assessment and management of risk across the University, including commercial undertakings
  • overseeing and monitoring the academic activities of the University.

The statutory powers and responsibilities of Senate are defined by section 16 of the University of Sydney Act 1989 (NSW).

Agenda items due Meeting date  Meeting time
Friday 6 March 2020 Friday 20 March 2020 All day
Friday 6 March 2020 Saturday 21 March 2020 (Retreat) All day
Wednesday 6 May 2020 Wednesday 20 May 2020 1pm
Friday 19 June 2020 Friday 3 July 2020 1pm
Friday 31 July 2020 Friday 14 August 2020 All day
Wednesday 16 September 2020 Wednesday 30 September 2020 1pm 
Wednesday 21 October 2020 Wednesday 4 November 2020 1pm
Monday 23 November 2020  Monday 7 December 2020 1pm
Agenda items due Meeting date Meeting time
Friday 5 March 2021 Friday 19 March 2021 All day
Friday 5 March 2021 Saturday 20 March 2021 (Retreat)  All day
Wednesday 5 May 2021 Wednesday 19 May 2021 1pm 
Wednesday 16 June 2021 Wednesday 30 June 2021 1pm 
Friday 13 August 2021 Friday 27 August 2021 All day
Wednesday 15 September 2021 Wednesday 29 September 2021 1pm 
Monday 18 October 2021 Monday 1 November 2021 1pm 
Monday 29 November 2021 Monday 13 December 2021 1pm 

Contact

Alyssa White

Manager Governance (Senate & Academic Board)
Address
  • Level 5 Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Administration Building F23