Skip to main content

Honorary Awards Committee

Advising Senate on Honorary Awards and Fellowships
The Honorary Awards Committee advises Senate on candidates for honorary degrees and honorary fellowships

The role of the Honorary Awards Committee is to advise Senate on:

  • candidates for honorary degrees and honorary fellowships; and
  • naming proposals in relation to University buildings and other significant assets, including scholarships and prizes, centres and institutes, and foundations.

Full terms of reference (pdf, 58.4KB)

2021 meeting dates for the Senate Honorary Awards Committee will be made available shortly.

Chair and ex-officio members
The chair is appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (not a staff or student Fellow).

Member Term of Office
Richard Freudenstein
Deputy Chancellor
Current term as Chair
Sep 2020 – May 2022
Belinda Hutchinson AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Chancellor
Feb 2017 – Feb 2025

Previous term as Chancellor
Feb 2013 – Feb 2017

Professor Stephen Garton AM
ex-officio member

Current term as Vice-Chancellor
Dec 2020 - 

Professor Tony Masters
Chair of the Academic Board

Current term as Chair of Academic Board
Jan 2020 - Dec 2021

Previous term as Chair of Academic Board
Jan 2018 - Dec 2019

Fellows of Senate

Two Fellows of Senate are appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor.

Member Term of Office
Francis Tamer Current term
Sep 2020 – May 2021

Co-opted members

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.  


Alyssa White

Manager Governance (Senate & Academic Board)
  • Level 5 Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Administration Building F23