Skip to main content

Risk and Audit Committee

Overseeing the University's Systems of Risk Management
The Risk and Audit Committee oversees the University's risk management and risk assessment.

The role of the Risk and Audit Committee is to:

  • review and oversee the University’s systems of risk management, internal control, internal audit and regulatory compliance; and
  • to ensure that they are effective in monitoring and responding to strategic, operational, financial and other emerging risks within the Committee’s Terms of Reference

The Committee monitors and advises Senate on:

  • systems of risk management including: 
    • Safety, Health and Wellbeing (SHW) related matters including compliance with work health and safety legislation;
    • environmental and sustainability risk and compliance;
  • Internal Audit
  • regulatory compliance; and
  • insurance.

Full terms of reference (pdf, 68.3KB)

Agenda items due Meeting date Meeting time
Friday 29 January 2021 Friday 12 February 2021 2pm -4:30pm
Friday 2 April 2021 Friday 16 April 2021 2pm -4:30pm
Friday 21 May 2021 Friday 4 June 2021 2pm -4:30pm
Friday 9 July 2021 Friday 23 July 2021 2pm -4:30pm 
Friday 24 September 2021 Friday 8 October 2021 (Reserve) 2pm -4:30pm
Friday 29 October 2021 Friday 12 November 2021 2pm -4:30pm

All submissions to Senate Committees must first be endorsed by the University Executive

Chair and ex-officio members

Chair is appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (not a staff or student Fellow).

Member Term of office
Jason Yat-Sen Li

Current term as Chair

Sep 2020 – May 2022

Belinda Hutchinson AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Chancellor
Feb 2017 – Feb 2025

Previous term as Chancellor
Feb 2013 – Feb 2017


Richard Freudenstein
Deputy Chancellor
ex-officio member

Current term as Deputy Chancellor
April 2020 – Mar 2022

Previous term as Deputy Chancellor
Dec 2017 – Mar 2020

Professor Mark Scott AO
ex-officio member

Current term as Vice-Chancellor
July 2021 - 
Fellows of Senate

Three Fellows of Senate are appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor.

Member Term of office

Karen Moses

Current term
Sep 2020 – May 2022
Emeritus Professor Alan Pettigrew Current term
Sep 2020 – May 2022
Professor Renae Ryan Current term
Jun 2021 – May 2023
External members

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.

Member Term of office

Vince Graham AM

Current term
Sep 2020 – May 2022

Rob Warren Current term
Sep 2020 - May 2022
Additional members

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.


Other members determined by the chair:

Mike Powell

Chief Safety Officer 

David Pacey

Secretary to Senate

Nisha Padmanabhan

Chief Risk Officer

Martin McLoughlin 

Acting Chief Internal Auditor



Kiuyan Hone

Committee Officer
  • Level 5, Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Michael Spence Building F23