Challenges and opportunities for Asia-Pacific international arbitration - symposium

15 November 2019



Please note that online payments are by credit card only (Mastercard/VISA). Please email if you require another form of payment.


Challenges and opportunities for Asia-Pacific international arbitration - symposium

Building on Reyes & Gu (eds), The Developing World of Arbitration: A Comparative Study of Arbitration Reform in the Asia-Pacific (Hart, 2018), this symposium examines more recent challenges for international commercial arbitration (ICA), especially the proliferation of international commercial courts, the 2018 UN Convention on enforcement of mediated settlement agreements, and dispute resolution for the Belt & Road initiative. The main focus is on Hong Kong and Singapore (competing jurisdictions in the top "Stage 4" for ICA venues, as identified by Reyes & Gu), Australia (a "Stage 3" venue), China and Japan ("Stage 2" venues).

The symposium will also compare approaches in these jurisdictions to investor-state dispute settlement (ISDS). Building on Chaisse and Nottage (eds) International Investment Treaties and Arbitration Across Asia (Brill, 2018), participants will chart evolving treaty practices and high-profile ISDS cases (including eg in Indonesia), assess whether these do or might impact on public attitudes even towards ICA or other forms of arbitration, and explore alternatives or complements to ISDS.


  • Professor Shahla Ali, University of Hong Kong
  • Professor Vivienne Bath, The University of Sydney Law School
  • Adjunct Professor Max Bonnell, Henry William Lawyers & The University of Sydney
  • Professor Simon Bronitt, Dean, The University of Sydney Law School
  • Professor Simon Butt, The University of Sydney Law School
  • Professor James Claxton, Kobe University
  • The Hon. Dr Clyde Croft AM SC, Supreme Court of Victoria
  • Daniel Forster, Sparke Helmore Lawyers & The University of Sydney Law School
  • Dr Benjamin Hayward, Monash University
  • Brenda Horrigan, ACICA President & Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Associate Professor Jeanne Huang, The University of Sydney Law School
  • Associate Professor Amokura Kawharu, The University of Auckland
  • The Hon. Kevin Lindgren AM QC FAAL, formerly Federal Court of Australia
  • Wilson Mbugua, University of Hong Kong
  • James Morrison, ACICA & Morrison Law
  • Professor Luke Nottage, The University of Sydney Law School
  • Jonathan Redwood, Banco Chambers
  • Yi Tang, University of Hong Kong
  • Dr Nobumichi (Nobu) Teramura, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Leon Trakman, UNSW
  • Professor The Hon Marilyn Warren AC QC, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria

  • VIEW THE DRAFT PROGRAM (PDF) (as at 17 September 2019)


    Registration (inc. GST)
    Full fee: $170
    Sydney Law School alumni / Government: $140
    Students / Full-time academics / NGOs: $80

    Please note that registration is for the full day.

    CPD Points: 5

    This symposium is a joint project with University of Hong Kong: following the symposium there on 15 July. Co-hosted by the Centre for Asian and Pacific Law (CAPLUS) at Sydney Law School, supported by the Sydney Centre for International Law (SCIL).

    The symposium's media partner is Transnational Dispute Management (TDM).

    Please see below under 'More info' for the Symposium flyer.


    Time: 9.30am - 5pm (cocktail reception from 5-6pm)

    Location: Sydney Law School, Law Lounge, Level 1, New Law Building Annex (F10A), Eastern Ave, Camperdown

    Cost: See above

    Contact: Professional Learning & Community Engagement

    Phone: 02 9351 0429

    Email: 3f05275a2a01272817046f3b204b0f262c1a302d27621018

    More info: