Skip to main content

Graduation

Graduation and conferral schedule

What is conferral

When you have completed the requirements of your degree, you will be eligible to have your degree conferred. Conferral is the process where you are awarded your degree at the University. After conferral you can use any titles associated with your degree. In most circumstances, your degree will be conferred soon after the completion of your study and before the date of your graduation ceremony.

You will receive a digital version of your graduation documents 2-5 business days after your degree is conferred. These graduation documents will be sent to your personal email address, as recorded in Sydney Student, with information on how to create an account with My eQuals. This will also be the address we use to set up your My eQuals account.

Find out more about when your degree will be conferred.

2023 Graduation ceremony schedule

These proposed ceremony dates and are subject to review and change. Details of your graduation ceremony time, date and location will be confirmed in your invitation, which will be sent three or four weeks before your ceremony.

All ceremonies are live streamed. Live streams are available 15 minutes before your ceremony commences. Recordings are accessible on the live stream site after 2 business days for 6 months after the event.

2023 May ceremony dates

  • Thursday 18 May

2023 October ceremony dates

  • Monday 16 October

2023 May ceremony dates

  • Tuesday 2 May
  • Thursday 11 May
  • Tuesday 16 May
  • Thursday 18 May

2023 October ceremony dates

  • Friday 13 October
  • Tuesday 17 October

2023 May ceremony dates

  • Friday 19 May
  • Monday 22 May
  • Tuesday 23 May

2023 October ceremony dates

  • Thursday 5 October
  • Monday 9 October
  • Tuesday 10 October 

2023 May ceremony dates

  • Thursday 25 May
  • Friday 26 May

2023 October ceremony dates

  • Thursday 5 October
  • Friday 6 October

2023 May ceremony dates

  • Monday 22 May
  • Tuesday 23 May

2023 October ceremony dates

  • Monday 9 October

2023 May ceremony dates

  • Monday 1 May
  • Thursday 4 May
  • Friday 5 May
  • Monday 8 May
  • Tuesday 9 May

2023 October-December ceremony dates

  • Friday 13 October
  • Wednesday 6 December
  • Thursday 7 December

2023 May ceremony dates

  • Thursday 4 May

2023 October ceremony dates

  • Monday 16 October

2023 May ceremony dates

  • Monday 1 May
  • Friday 12 May
  • Monday 15 May

2023 October ceremony dates

  • Wednesday 4 October

Steps to conferral

Once the University has assessed you are eligible to have your degree conferred, you will receive an email confirming your completion letter is now available in Sydney Student. This email will usually be sent a couple of weeks after the release of your final results, but for some courses it may be longer.

In this email you will be invited to review and submit your graduation details in Sydney Student (go to ‘My studies', then 'Assessments'). It’s important you complete this task as soon as possible as these details will appear on your testamur and academic transcript.

When your degree will be conferred

Depending on when you receive your completion letter, in most instances you will be allocated to the next available conferral date before your in-person ceremony. The Graduations Office will determine your conferral date and notify you by email.

If you have completed your studies in Semester 2, 2022, you will most likely have your degree conferred on Monday, 27 March 2023.

There may be instances where your conferral date may vary. This will most likely be because aspects of your degree are yet to be finalised, such as if you have an active appeal or if you have pending results. In these instances, the Graduations Office will determine the most appropriate conferral date.

Once your conferral date has been assigned, we are unable to make any changes.

Conferral dates for 2023 are:

  • Monday 27 March
  • Monday 26 June
  • Monday 11 September
  • Monday 4 December

Student Centre

Online

Phone

1800 SYD UNI (1800 793 864)
or +61 2 8627 1444 (outside Australia)

Find out more about how we can help

Last updated: 30 January 2023

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.

Cancel