Steve Vucic wins Gottschalk Medal at Australian Academy of Science awards

24 November 2015

Neurologist Dr Steve Vucic has been awarded the Gottschalk Medal at 2016 Australian Academy of Science awards for his pioneering research revealing processes that can trigger the motor neurone disease, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS).

2016 Gottschalk Medal winner, Professor Steve Vucic 

Dr Vucic is a Professor at the University of Sydney’s Faculty of Medicine and Director of Neurophysiology at Westmead Hospital in Sydney.

His research has aided the development of new techniques for diagnosing ALS, resulting in earlier, more effective interventions. His work has also led to the identification of new therapeutic targets and neuroprotective therapies for a disease that kills two Australians every day.

Professor Vucic has also made significant research contributions in the understanding of molecular and genetic processes underlying relapsing and progressive forms of multiple sclerosis, spurring the development of novel treatments for this chronic disease.

After completing his clinical training in neurology at the Royal Prince Alfred and Concord Hospitals, he did further training in clinical and research neurophysiology at the Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston.

Following his return to Australia, he completed a PhD under the supervision of Professor Matthew Kiernan, Co-Director of the Brain and Mind Centre.

Professor Vucic has received numerous research awards, including the 2007 ANZAN Young Investigator Prize, the 2007 JG Golseth Young Investigator Prize of the American Academy of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine, the 2008 University of Sydney Medal for excellence in Medical Research, 2010 the MAB Brazier Young Investigator Award in Clinical Neurophysiology and the 2014 Sir Zelman Cowen Universities Fund Prize for Discovery in Medical Research, shared with his University of Sydney colleague Associate Professor Anthony Gill.

Each year the Australian Academy of Science presents awards to recognise scientific excellence, to researchers in the early stage of their careers through to those who have made life-long achievements.

This year’s announcement includes 17 award winners across astronomy, nanoscience, mathematics, chemistry, physics, environmental science and human health.

Read more about the 2016 Australian Academy Of Science awards here.

Dan Gaffney

Media & PR Adviser (Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy)
  • Room N302 Pharmacy A15