2016 honour roll of University researchers

7 December 2016

Our researchers drive positive change for the benefit of Australia and the global community. Below are just a few of the awards our researchers have won this year, showing a wide breadth of achievements that is a testament to our culture of excellence in research.

2016 research award recipients

Nancy Keesing Fellowship
Lee Stickells

AIA National Architecture Awards 2016
National Commendation
for the Cape York Partnership Offices in the Commercial Architecture category
Professor Kevin O’Brien

National Commendation for the Kempsey Crescent Head Surf Life Saving Club in the Public Architecture category
Adjunct Professor Rachel Neeson

Academic Leadership in Political Science Award from the Australian Political Studies Association (APSA)
Professor Pippa Norris

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards for 2016

Non-fiction Prize
Professor Sheila Fitzpatrick, Department of History

Prize for Australian History
Emeritus Professor Suzanne Rutland OAM, from the School of Languages and Culture

Fiction Prize
Charlotte Wood, Writer in Residence at the Charles Perkins Centre

Engineers Australia Top 50 innovators 2016

Dr Ali Fathi

Professor Fariba Dehghani

Professor Andrew Harris

Professor Salah Sukkarieh

IEEE CIS Outstanding Early Career Award
Dong Xu, School of Electrical and Information Engineering

Technical Achievement award
Abbas Jamalipour

The Vinnakota Award
Hannah Blum

American Society of Civil Engineers: Shortridge Hardesty Award
Kim Rasmussan

CRC Association: Excellence in Innovation award
Shahadat Uddin

Annual International Conference on Structural Integrity and Failure: Best Student Paper
Pengyu Huang

The Australian Engineering Excellence Awards (AEEA) Sydney 2016
Daniel John De Cataldo

IEEE International Symposium on Network Computing and Applications
Albert Zomaya

IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society: The Norbert Wiener award
Hong Yan

Paul and Dee-Dee Slade Young Investigator Award
Chongpu Zhai

Australian Financial Review Higher Education Award
Steven Scheding

Women in Science Citation Award
Dr Julie Schneider

The Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to physiotherapy and to medical education in the 2016 Australia Day Honours
Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, Professor Kathryn Refshauge

2017 Breakthrough Prize
New Horizons in Mathematics Prize
Geordie Williamson, School of Mathematics and Statistics

2017 Australian Academy for Science awardees

Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal
Professor Joss Bland-Hawthorn
Director, Sydney Institute for Astronomy

Gustav Nossal Medal for Global Health
Professor Barend Marais Deputy Director, Marie Bashir Institute for Infectious Diseases and Biosecurity Institute

Fenner Medal
Professor Simon Ho
Professor of Molecular Evolution, School of Life and Environmental Sciences (SOLES)

Le Févre Memorial Prize Dr Deanna D'Alessandro ARC Queen Elizabeth (II) Fellow, School of Chemistry

2016 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

2016 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science
Professor Rick Shine
Shine Lab, SOLES

Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year
Professor Richard Payne ARC Future Fellow, School of Chemistry

2016 NSW Premier’s Prizes for Science & Engineering

New South Wales Scientist of the Year
Professor Rick Shine
Shine Lab

Excellence in Mathematics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry and Physics
Professor Joss Bland-Hawthorn
Director, Sydney Institute for Astronomy

Excellence in Medical Biological Sciences (Cell and molecular, medical, veterinary and genetics)
Professor David James, Systems Biology Chair, Charles Perkins Centre

NSW Early Career Researcher of the Year Joint Winner
Dr Elizabeth New Senior Lecturer, School of Chemistry

2016 Tall Poppy Campaign NSW Tall Poppy 
Dr Thomas Newsome
 Postdoctoral Research Fellow, SOLES

2016 Eureka Prizes
Outstanding Early Career Researcher 
Dr Michael Bowen NHMRC Peter Doherty Biomedical Fellow, School of Psychology

2016 Australian Awards for University Teaching Citation 
Professor Christopher Dickman
 Professor in Ecology (Personal Chair), SOLES

Australian Academy of Science fellow
Professor Ben Eggleton

L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Fellowships
2016 Fellow
Dr Camilla Whittington Early Career Researcher, Faculty of Veterinary Science

2016 Fellow Dr Angela Crean Early Career Researcher, Faculty of Veterinary Science

Have we missed a prize winner? Let us know.

Related articles