University appoints six alumni to governing body - The University of Sydney

University appoints six alumni to governing body

3 November 2017

The University of Sydney this week announced the appointment of four new Fellows to its governing Senate, as well as the reappointment of two existing fellows.

Representing a diverse range of backgrounds, all six are graduates of the University who have developed leading careers across the fields of law, science and medical research, human resources, journalism, business and finance.

The appointments represent the end of a two-year process to update the structure of Senate that implements provisions in NSW legislation that are designed to facilitate best practice in governance and oversight.

University of Sydney Chancellor Belinda Hutchinson AM. 

“I am delighted our alumni community will continue to have such a strong representation on Senate,” said Chancellor Belinda Hutchinson AM, following a call for nominations that saw 86 high calibre individuals express an interest in joining Senate.

“Our new and reappointed Fellows bring a range of skills and perspectives that will be invaluable in Senate’s primary role: ensuring our University has strong governance and sound financial management so we can achieve our strategic priorities and improve our already world-class education and research.”

“The fact that so many alumni offered to volunteer their time to help build the future of our University reflects the enduring impact a Sydney education has on our students, and the platform it provides for them to succeed as leaders in whatever field they choose.”

From 1 December Senate will be comprised of 15 Fellows, 14 of whom are either staff, students or alumni of the University.

The new Fellows of Senate are:

  • Dr Lisa McIntyre, a medical researcher, biotech and healthcare strategy consultant, executive and non-executive director with extensive experience in the governance of large and complex organisations
  • Richard Freudenstein, an experienced digital media executive and board director with more than 20 years experience in senior management and board roles in Australia, the UK and Asia in the for profit and not for profit sectors
  • Jason Yat-sen Li, who brings significant board and strategy experience, including in Australia-China relations, and who is currently a Director of the Sydney Institute and a Governor of the Smith Family
  • Karen Moses, who brings extensive and high-level financial and commercial expertise as a chief operating officer, executive general manager and executive director, and 20 years experience as a company director in the for-profit and not-for-profit sectors.

They are joined by two existing Fellows of Senate, who will continue to serve on the reconstituted Senate.

  • Ilana Atlas, who has extensive experience as a lawyer, executive director, and non-executive director with significant responsibility for corporate governance, strategy, human resources and fundraising, and who has previously served as a council member and pro-chancellor of the Australian National University.
  • Kate McClymont, a senior journalist with experience in digital strategy, government relations, fundraising and the education and not-for-profit sector, who is the immediate past chair of the Walkley Foundation Advisory Board.

Senate is now comprised of:

  • three ex-officio fellows (the Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor and Chair of the Academic Board)
  • two external fellows appointed by the Minister for Education
  • five external fellows appointed by Senate
  • five elected fellows (two from academic staff, one from professional staff, one from the undergraduate student body and one from the postgraduate student body).

Belinda Hutchinson also paid tribute to outgoing fellows of Senate: Alec Brennan AM, Dr Barry Catchlove AM, Peter FitzSimons AM, Dorothy Hoddinott AO, Peter King, Kevin McCann AM, Dr Catriona Menzies-Pike and David Mortimer AO.

“I would particularly like to thank Alec Brennan for his service as Deputy Chancellor, and Dr Barry Catchlove, Peter FitzSimons, Dorothy Hoddinott, Kevin McCann and David Mortimer for serving as Pro-Chancellor.”

“Our Fellows have demonstrated selfless volunteering of their time and expertise which has contributed much to the present and future strengths of the University of Sydney, and our whole community owes them a debt of gratitude.”

As the governing body of the University, Senate has the functions conferred on it by the University of Sydney Act 1989 (NSW). It awards all degrees and diplomas, and oversees all major decisions concerning the conduct of the University, including staff appointments and welfare, student welfare and discipline, financial matters and the physical and academic development of the University. 

Related articles