Sydney Medical School receives international award

21 September 2017

Sydney Medical School has received the internationally renowned ASPIRE-to-Excellence award in Assessment in a ceremony held in Helsinki, Finland on Monday 28 August.

(From L to R) AMEE President Professor Trudie Roberts presents the award to Associate Professor Deborah O'Mara and Associate Professor Chris Roberts from Sydney Medical School.

The award recognises the University’s world-class processes when it comes to the assessment of medical students throughout their degree and its focus on improving the health of individuals and communities.

Former co-head of the medical program and current Lead for the Interprofessional Learning in Health Strategy, Associate Professor Chris Roberts says the award is recognition for the quality of the School’s education and assessment programs.

“The ASPIRE Award means that the Sydney Medical School has been recognised internationally for its excellence in education, and in particular for the quality of its assessment programs,” he says.

“This award reflects the University’s long-standing commitment to excellence in education and particularly excellence in assessment. Our medical degree aims to produce graduates with the qualities to deliver, lead and advocate for culturally competent, research-informed, evidence-based and patient-centred care in Australia and worldwide.”

Sydney Medical School presented ASPIRE Award

Associate Professor Roberts says that the University aims to continue with its world-leading assessment programs that prepare students for their future careers in health.

“The University is committed to sustaining innovative assessment practices because it powerfully frames how students learn and what they can achieve,” says Associate Professor Roberts.

The ASPIRE award process subjects the University’s assessment strategies, processes and outcomes to scrutiny by international experts against an agreed set of standards that identify world-class excellence in assessment.

Associate Professors Deb O’Mara Academic Lead for Assessment, Associate Professor Leo Davies, and Ms Imogene Rothnie also contributed to the submission.

The University of Sydney was the only Australian institution to receive an ASPIRE Award from the Association for Medical Education in Europe in 2017.

Elliott Richardson

Assistant Media Advisor (Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy)

Related Articles