12 staff members at the awards ceremony with backdrop featuring different company logos

Sydney awarded Gold at the 2022 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards

27 May 2022
The University has achieved Gold accreditation for the second consecutive year
The Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards recognise Australia's top organisations for inclusion based on the results of the Australian Workplace Equality Index (AWEI).

The University of Sydney has been named as a Gold Employer at the 2022 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards for a second consecutive year. The awards are based on the results of submissions to the Australian Workplace Equality Index (AWEI) and set national benchmarks for LGBTIQ+ workplace inclusion.

Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Annamarie Jagose, who is Executive Sponsor of the Pride Network, said the result reflects the University’s ongoing commitment to being among the most inclusive employers in Australia for the LGBTQIA+ community.  

“Gold accreditation from the AWEI is a significant achievement of which our community should be proud. As the expectations and benchmarks for an inclusive workplace continue to rise, the University will continue to stand behind its commitment to LGBTQIA+ inclusion for staff, students and our broader community through a range of support and initiatives. I encourage colleagues to think about what you can do both as an individual and as part of a team to foster a diverse and inclusive environment, which benefits us all.”

AWEI submissions are marked against a set of criteria, ranging from LGBTQIA+ inclusive workplace policies to culture and communication, and given a total score out of 200. Each year, as more organisations participate in the AWEI and aspire to meet the criteria, the scores required to achieve Bronze, Silver and Gold status have increased, making it harder to achieve the same level. 

This score reflects the range of LGBTQIA+ inclusion initiatives and activities that were undertaken at the University in 2021 including:

  • a supportive and engaged Pride Network, with Co-Chairs and members of the Network’s Steering Committee working together to develop and deliver Network activities, as well as foster an inclusive and supportive community for LGBTQIA+ staff and students
  • support for community events such as Mardi Gras and University events exploring themes such as transgender awareness, bi-visibility, and intersectionality
  • provision of clear and accessible support and resources for our LGBTQIA+ staff and allies
  • initiatives to support LGBTQIA+ students including our Student Support Liaison Officers (SSLOs) and the OUT for Now series
  • promotion of best-practice inclusive language guidelines across the University.
A group of staff celebrating at the 2022 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards

The awards recognise Australia’s top organisations for LGBTQIA+ inclusion.

Co-Chairs of the Pride Network, Daniele Gianotti and Dr Eugenia Gasparri, acknowledged and thanked colleagues who helped bring these initiatives to life.

“As Co-Chairs of the Pride Network, and on behalf of our fellow Co-Chair Associate Professor Melissa Hardie, who is currently on leave, we are particularly proud of this result and would like to express our profound gratitude to the Steering Committee and Diversity and Inclusion team for their hard work and outstanding dedication. A special thank you to our previous and current Executive Sponsors, Professor Stephen Garton and Professor Annamarie Jagose, for supporting our staff and student LGBTQIA+ community. 

“This award is proof that we are on the right track to make the University of Sydney a better place, and we will keep working together to ensure that all minorities are heard, appreciated and protected.”

Professor Jagose also acknowledged the energy and commitment of colleagues across the University to furthering LGBTQIA+ inclusion in our workplace and for our students – in particular last year’s Co-Chairs of the Pride Network, Dr Matt Pye and Christie Adamson, the current Co-Chairs, Daniele Gianotti, Dr Eugenia Gasparri and and Associate Professor Melissa Hardie, as well as other members of the Steering Committee.

“This work is no mean feat at the best of times, let alone during more challenging times, and so I commend and thank all the committee co-chairs and members, and look forward to working with them in my role as Executive Sponsor of the Network.”

Related news