Eureka Prizes trophy [Copyright Australian Museum, photo by Daniel O'Doherty]

Sydney researchers claim all 2023 Eureka Prizes in leadership

24 August 2023
And an additional award in the research and innovation category 

Researchers at the University of Sydney have secured four awards at the 2023 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes, the prestigious annual science awards. 

The winners impressively swept up all three Leadership prizes, along with another in Research and Innovation. 

Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor Mark Scott AO, said: “The remarkable achievements of our Eureka Prize winners highlight their dedication, leadership and ability to create innovative breakthroughs and demonstrate the University's ongoing contribution to research.”

The Eureka Prizes were awarded on Wednesday, 23 August, at a dinner in the Australian Museum.

The University of Sydney had ten finalists in the awards this year.

Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science and Innovation

Professor Michael Kassiou’s research is focused on brain disorders and cardiovascular disease, blending his expertise in medicinal chemistry, disease biology and cutting-edge imaging techniques to pioneer innovative solutions for conditions that have perplexed the medical community.

His efforts to commercialise his research have resulted in the establishment of three start-ups. He is Director of the Drug Discovery Initiative, a member of Sydney Nano and the Brain and Mind Centre, and Professor at the School of Chemistry in the Faculty of Science.

Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science

Dr Stephanie Partridge combines her expertise in digital health, public nutrition and research to unravel the intricate mechanisms that can prevent obesity and chronic illnesses.

She is studying the evolving dynamics between technology and nutritional consumption in young people, with research that has influenced critical public health policies in Australia and abroad. She is a Senior Research Fellow and an Accredited Practising Dietitian at the School of Health Sciences in the Faculty of Medicine and Health, and a member of the Charles Perkins Centre.

University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers

Professor Renae Ryan’s research examines how proteins move molecules across the membranes of cells, with a focus on the effects these processes have on neurotransmission in the brain.

Professor Ryan's mentorship has shaped the trajectory of numerous careers through networking, guidance and advocacy, and she founded the Sydney Medical School Early Career Researcher Network. She is a Professor of Biochemical Pharmacology at the School of Medical Sciences in the Faculty of Medicine and Health, and a member of Sydney Nano .

Macquarie University Eureka Prize for Outstanding Early Career Researcher

Dr Fengwang Li creates technology capable of transforming carbon dioxide (CO2) into ethylene, a crucial ingredient in the production of polymers and chemicals.

His work is helping establish a net-zero emission future and could help mitigate the impact of emissions-intensive industries. He is a Lecturer at the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and member of Sydney Nano and the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre.

Hero image: Eureka Prizes trophy [Copyright Australian Museum, photo by Daniel O'Doherty]

Philip Ritchie

Media and PR Adviser (Science)

Related articles